Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?  (Read 1868 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« on: April 20, 2015, 07:54:03 pm »
Hey guys,


I'm looking at incorporating monitor rotation into my WIP cab project.  Currently I have a 19" LCD monitor with mounts on the back that are dead centre to the screen.  My experience with motors is pretty much zero - other than making them go on those 100 in 1 electronics kits for the kids  ;D


I am pondering if the motor could be controlled via an un-used RGB pin on the Ultimate I/O board I have for my controls and LEDs.  LED goes on, motor turns? Plus the current could be controlled to slowly turn the motor up or down the same way the brightness is controlled for the LEDs...  or am I totally out to left field with this?


Failing this, i'm looking at picking up a very basic stepper motor driver and diving into the timeless mvrotate:


https://solarbotics.com/product/51090/


The motor I have is pulled from a 5V electric drill I hadn't touched in forever. It actually still has its forward/reverse switch on it in case that can be used in some fashion... but will likley be chopping it down to just its + and - wires.  I will be hacking together a homebrew linear actuator out of a bolt, nut and copper pipe.


Thanks


pO


Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3044
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 08:05:51 pm »
I wouldn't do it.  While the signal probably could fire a motor, there is more to a motor driver than just pushing the voltage.  Motors are inductors, and will generate a back voltage when they stop - that back voltage could well fry your Ultimate.

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2015, 01:43:33 am »
I agree with Slippy, the I/O board most likely cannot handle the current of the motor, but you can buy or build a drive that can do the job.
The I/O board supplies two signals to the drive (forward and reverse), and the drive does all the grunt work.

Here is a schematic to build your own (3rd post down)

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,129533.0.html

But you may be better off to order a cheap "already put together" drive.

You will also need a power supply that matches the voltage of the motor and can supply enough current to the motor.

EDIT: Your link above is to a drive (I thought it was a link to the motor you are using).
I think it will probably work, but it is made for a stepper motor, you may need one made for a standard DC brush motor. Im pretty sure the drill motor is not a stepper, but I could be wrong.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 01:47:05 am by DaOld Man »

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2015, 07:51:07 pm »
Thanks for the reply's gents.

Makes total sense that the board wouldn't be able to handle the current draw from the motor.

And yes DaOldman, I've since confirmed my motor is a simple brush motor, just two wires coming off of it.  Looking at ordering one of these two drivers this week:

http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/drv8838-single-brushed-dc-motor-driver.html

Or

http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/l298-dual-h-bridge-dc-motor-controller.html

I know I don't need the dual bridge, but it has screw terminals! :)

I'll post some pics of my contraption once I figure out how to couple my bolt to the motor shaft... Any suggestions?

pO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2015, 01:23:13 am »
Thanks for the reply's gents.

Makes total sense that the board wouldn't be able to handle the current draw from the motor.

And yes DaOldman, I've since confirmed my motor is a simple brush motor, just two wires coming off of it.  Looking at ordering one of these two drivers this week:

http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/drv8838-single-brushed-dc-motor-driver.html

Or

http://www.robotshop.com/ca/en/l298-dual-h-bridge-dc-motor-controller.html

I know I don't need the dual bridge, but it has screw terminals! :)

I'll post some pics of my contraption once I figure out how to couple my bolt to the motor shaft... Any suggestions?

pO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Got pics of your motor and the bolt?

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2015, 07:39:57 pm »
Using an app to upload a pic... Apologies if it doesn't work.

The pic shows the hacked up drill motor shaft/sprocket, my threaded rod and coupling bolt.  I was planning on epoxying the sprocket bit into the bolt if I can figure out a good way to keep it centred while the glue sets.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2015, 01:35:06 am »
Hmm. If you know someone with a lathe, you can have them drill a hole in the center of the bolt, slightly larger than the shaft on the motor, then glue the bolt to the motor.
You can try to drill it yourself, but it needs to be pretty dang close to center of the bolt, and doing it by hand will most likely not do the job.
You may also be able to use a nut, and then some sort of reducer on the motor side. Nut with reducer glues to motor, the long bolt screws into the other side of the nut.
Maybe use that coupling bolt in that fashion?

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2015, 07:06:23 pm »
Thanks for the suggestion!

I attached a pic of what I have setting up now.  I'm feeling fairly good about this... I'm going to re-attach the front of the drill to the motor, that will hold onto the bit that will hopefully be "one" with the bolt in about 24 hours.

I probably won't get to the point of setting up a test rig this weekend but I'll update here when I do if it works or not.

pO


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaOld Man

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4457
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2015, 11:46:23 am »
That looks like a good way to do it. Does the driver bit go into the motor shaft chuck?

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2015, 02:13:16 pm »
Yes, exactly right.

I also realized that I don't really need the pipe part of the actuator if I can secure a pivoting rod to a nut.  And make it take up much less space.

So, the motor will turn the bolt, the bolt will push/pull the nut which will in turn push/pull a rod or bar secured to one side of my lazy Susan bearing.

Hoping to prototype this weekend.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CNC_Tech

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2015, 01:09:08 am »
I just asked the same question over in the Software board since I'm looking for a Hyperspin specific implementation.  My idea is to use 2 ports on the UIO board to light the LEDs of  opto-isolators which I can pick off with a micro to rotate the monitor to the corresponding orientation.  I will post details of my monitor rotating mechanism in a few weeks.  Everybody likes to see these things in operation so I'm waiting on a video camera to arrive so I can do a quick video.  I built this as a testing platform so it's a bit crude and made entirely out of scrap (less the hardware).

If anyone has any ideas on how I can have Hyperspin light an UIO port depending on orientation, please let me know.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8076
  • My arcade cabinet has a cup holder.
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2015, 12:34:21 pm »
OP,

I don't know if you've ordered a motor controller yet, but quite a few of us settled on a Pololu Simple Motor Controller.
It's USB and responds to very simple command lines or autohotkey scripts.
If using Mala, DaOld Man's plugin handles the posting of the command line to rotate the screen on the fly.

CNC_Tech,

I believe DNA Dan used Hyperspin on his build.  This was pre UIO, but getting Hyperspin to trigger and output would work the same way.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,110471.120.html

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2015, 08:34:10 pm »
Hey All,


Been distracted by day to day but wanted to give a quick update.


I've attached my current Sketchup plan for mounting my drill hack.  The Epoxy/Coupling Nut/Sacrificial Drillbit is holding strong :)


@Badmoutn - Do can you share a link to the Pololu SMC?  I think i was eyeing that this week...


@ CNC_Tech - Have you gotten anywhere with your madness?


pO

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8076
  • My arcade cabinet has a cup holder.
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2015, 03:51:18 pm »
@Badmoutn - Do can you share a link to the Pololu SMC?  I think i was eyeing that this week...

Solder your own: https://www.pololu.com/product/1373

Fully Assembled for a couple bucks more: https://www.pololu.com/product/1372

If you don't want to bother crimping tiny connectors, just order some jumper wires (female) along with it, cut them in half and splice into them.

I'm probably not using 90% of it's features.  I believe you can set it up to read a potentiometer to get the position, etc.
I figured out how to make it rotate each way and stopped there.  :lol
« Last Edit: June 01, 2015, 03:56:13 pm by BadMouth »

pixelObsession

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Product of the 80's
    • Pixel Obsession
Re: Control motor with Ultimate I/O board?
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2015, 07:23:04 pm »
Long overdue update...

Motor died!

So looking at other options - ideally under $50 CAD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31