Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Pi to Arcade Monitor?  (Read 1462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2957
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« on: March 31, 2015, 03:39:46 pm »
What is the best, simplest way to get a CGA signal from a Pi? i wanna plug one into a 13 tube i have. i don't have the Pi yet, but I'm open to suggestion about what model i need too.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5514
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2015, 03:59:20 pm »
Probably a composite -> CGA adapter.

#RIP in piece, UCA.

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2957
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2015, 08:12:29 pm »
Does anyone who knows the Pi well enough know if it's possible to make a shield of sorts with a CGA output on it? Or would the signal have to come from the video out I/O options.  I can't belive someone hasn't figured this out yet....

slickam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2015, 09:52:55 pm »
It's possible to get VGA output from the GPIO pins (documents and kit) but I haven't seen anything about CGA output.

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2957
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2015, 10:53:50 pm »
Thats a great start. If they can make a VGA signal from the GPIO, whats to say they can't get a CGA signal from it as well? Think of the possibilities if you could simplify the signal from a Pi to a cab restore.

« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 10:55:44 pm by ChanceKJ »

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 629
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2015, 01:46:38 am »
Looking at doing this myself for a cocktail cab. Here's a good page if you haven't already stumbled across it:

http://thearcademan.net/connecting-a-raspberry-pi-to-an-old-15khz-arcade-monitor/


ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2957
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2015, 02:17:20 am »
Thats a great link! Thanks.

But how can we simplify this?

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5514
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2015, 10:11:19 am »
Well, you could eliminate the completely unnecessary HDMI -> VGA adapter from his setup for one...

#RIP in piece, UCA.

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4013
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2015, 02:10:35 pm »
Hmm, I wonder what the lag is like with daisy-chaining these converters.

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2957
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2015, 02:20:00 pm »
you thinking 6-Player XMen Conversion?

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4013
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2015, 02:50:39 pm »
Not for this solution, but I do have a 6-player X-men project in mind that could potentially use a Pi.

Still, I'm curious what kind of lag there would be with having an HDMI signal converted to VGA, then converted to CGA.  Seems like a lot of video processing to get a Pi running on old arcade monitors.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4974
  • Present for you Grandfather...
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2015, 04:39:37 am »
Just use the HDMI to VGA converter.
Thank God I am me.

Le Chuck

  • I want a new quote!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5280
  • I may have forgotten to whom I am talking.
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2015, 08:52:40 am »
Just use the HDMI to VGA converter.

Why?

behrmr

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2017, 02:41:43 pm »
Rather than start a new topic I thought I would post here since I didn't see a real resolution.  There are a couple of other semi-related threads on this subject but here goes anyhow.

I have an RPi 3 B+ model.  I have been able to successful run it on a VGA monitor using both a simple HDMI->VGA adapter as well as using the Gert VGA666.  However when I try to run at 15khz on an Arcade CRT I get poor results.  I do get an image but it is not very bright and seems to have minor "flagging" issues  which I would say are sync issues.    However, when I connect it to the RGBS connectors of my Sony PVM I get a great picture. 

What I've done that has produced a washed out picture with bad black levels
1) HDMI->VGA->VGA breakout cable then combined H and V sync to C sync and connected it to the arcade monitor
2) Gert VGA666 -> VGA breakout cable then combined H and V sync to C sync and connected it to the arcade monitor

I've used the same setup above and then just connected to the PVM RGBS and the picture is good.

Has anyone had good luck just running to an Arcade CRT or is something special, like perhaps a video amp needed to get a good image?

brandon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 780
  • I <3 arcade games.
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2017, 04:39:25 pm »
A video amp might do it. VGA is supposed to put out 0.7 volts max and a think that arcade monitors may be looking for slightly more. What type of arcade monitor are you connecting to?

behrmr

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2017, 06:31:35 pm »
A video amp might do it. VGA is supposed to put out 0.7 volts max and a think that arcade monitors may be looking for slightly more. What type of arcade monitor are you connecting to?

I've tried a couple of different ones with similar results. A Wells K4900, Kortek K7000 type monitor, and a K4700.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 685
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2017, 04:07:06 pm »

g5k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Pi to Arcade Monitor?
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2017, 04:58:58 pm »
Has anyone had good luck just running to an Arcade CRT or is something special, like perhaps a video amp needed to get a good image?


I have a couple of setups doing this. A retropie setup working, I go HDMI to VGA adaptor and then VGA to SCART with a sync circuit you can get perfect 240p out of the Pi. I used the Arcadeforge UMSA.

The fact it works on the PVM suggests you have a working path.

I then have an arcade setup using a RaspberryJamma board. I know the latest RaspberryJamma board has a video amp but I have the older one without and the picture is still bright enough. Sometimes I have had to give the board a bit more voltage as the 5v that work for a conventional jamma board drops to about 4.7v going to my  RaspberryJamma board so maybe a bit more voltage will help. The emulators also have some config values and I seem to recall the config.txt might have had some parameters to do with brightness.

config_hdmi_boost could be worth exploring as it increases the signal over HDMI.

You can read up here half way down;

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/config-txt.md

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31