Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)  (Read 24705 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 402
  • Brakes are overrated
I have previously posted how to play Mario Kart GP2 on Dolphin Triforce 3.0-694. LINK http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,133561.msg1375705.html#msg1375705
UPDATE: you can also play GP2 using this method but the link above is still the easiest way to play GP2

This is how to get Mario Kart GP1 to work. GP2 has like 95+% of everything GP1 has so if your only interested in getting one mario game, I recommend you choose GP2 and follow the link above. This is more for die hard people since this one is hard to get to work.

 You will need Three things:

-Dolphin 4.0-309 (Used to create a working save slate only. The controls are broken in 309 making it not playable so, you need 315 to play it)

https://dolphin-emu.org/download/dev/9a11f2f247652aceb774bc70d8d1

-Dolphin 4.0-315 (used to actually play the game. But it needs a save slate from 309 because it give an I/O error when you boot up. But the controls work in this version making it playable once you have a save slate to skip the startup)

https://dolphin-emu.org/download/dev/b957980d9f27279d2507a50e115bf275141a4ea7/

-Mario Kart GP1 (IN ISO FORMAT! if you have a different format, you have the wrong one. There are few versions floating around and you want the iso version for this to work)

Step 1: Open and setup Dolphin 4.0-309

Open up 309 and setup the paths and gamecube controls. Next open Options-> Configure -> Gamecube and change SP1 and Port 1 to "AM-Baseboard".



Next right click on Mario Kart GP1 and open properties. In the Game config tab, hit "edit config" on the bottom. It will open your word editor. Paste the following into the editor and hit save.

Quote
[OnFrame_Enabled]
$Disable crypto
$Loop fix
[OnFrame]
$Disable crypto
0x8023D828:dword:0x93A30008
0x8023D82C:dword:0x93C3000C
0x8023D830:dword:0x93E30010
0x8023E088:dword:0x4E800020
$Loop fix
0x800790A0:dword:0x98650025
0x8024F95C:dword:0x60000000
0x80031BF0:dword:0x60000000
0x80031BFC:dword:0x60000000
0x800BE10C:dword:0x4800002C
0x8009F1E0:dword:0x60000000
0x800319D0:dword:0x60000000
[EmuState]
EmulationIssues = AM-Baseboard



go to the patches tab and make sure Disable crypto and loop fix is select. close the properties.

2. start the game and insert coin (gamecube Z button). You see a mario card screen.

3. In the Dolphin menu, go to Emulation -> save slate -> choose a slot (shift+F1 is the shortcut for save slot 1)



4. Close Dolphin 4.0-309 and open Dolphin 4.0-315.

5. Setup up Dolphin 4.0-315 paths and GC controls Next open Options-> Configure -> Gamecube and change SP1 and Port 1 to "AM-Baseboard".

(Your save slates should be as default in your documents folder, you do not need to do anything since its the default place)

(R trigger is gas, L trigger is Brake, A is throw and Z is coin)

6. Right Click on the game and click on "edit config" on the bottom. If its not already there, repaste the hack.

Quote
[OnFrame_Enabled]
$Disable crypto
$Loop fix
[OnFrame]
$Disable crypto
0x8023D828:dword:0x93A30008
0x8023D82C:dword:0x93C3000C
0x8023D830:dword:0x93E30010
0x8023E088:dword:0x4E800020
$Loop fix
0x800790A0:dword:0x98650025
0x8024F95C:dword:0x60000000
0x80031BF0:dword:0x60000000
0x80031BFC:dword:0x60000000
0x800BE10C:dword:0x4800002C
0x8009F1E0:dword:0x60000000
0x800319D0:dword:0x60000000
[EmuState]
EmulationIssues = AM-Baseboard

7. start the game and load your save slate (default shortcut is F1). You will need to load your save slate everytime =(. if you want to play mario kart with less hassle, scroll up and go to my Mario Kart GP 2 link.

8. enjoy Mario Kart GP1



UPDATE: You can also play Mario Kart GP2 on 4.0-315 using a similar method(Credits to Bruce @ Emuline) . I still recommend playing GP2 using the original method I have linked above because its alot easier. The benefit of this method is you can play with the card system which has special points and prizes (but you need to save slate and load state everything to keep the info)

 You will need Three things:

-Dolphin 4.0-309 (Used to create a working save slate only. The controls are broken in 309 making it not playable so, you need 315 to play it)

https://dolphin-emu.org/download/dev/9a11f2f247652aceb774bc70d8d1

-Dolphin 4.0-315 (used to actually play the game. But it needs a save slate from 309 because it give an I/O error when you boot up. But the controls work in this version making it playable once you have a save slate to skip the startup)

https://dolphin-emu.org/download/dev/b957980d9f27279d2507a50e115bf275141a4ea7/

-Mario Kart GP2 (IN GCM FORMAT! if you have a different format, you have the wrong one. There are few versions floating around and you want tth gcm (PAL) version for this to work)

Step 1: Open and setup Dolphin 4.0-309

Open up 309 and setup the paths and gamecube controls. Next open Options-> Configure -> Gamecube and change SP1 and Port 1 to "AM-Baseboard".




Next right click on Mario Kart GP2 and open properties. In the Game config tab, hit "edit config" on the bottom. It will open your word editor. Paste the following into the editor and hit save.



Quote
[Gecko]
$Button Activator for L and R Trigger [CosmoCortney]
28858D32 0000XXXX
*L = 0200
*R = 0100
*L + R = 0300
$Infinite Time in Races [CosmoCortney]
046D0F8C 447A0000
[OnFrame]
$99 credits
0x80690AC0:dword:0x00000063
$DVDInquiry Patchok
0x80286388:dword:0x3C602100
0x8028638C:dword:0x4E800020
$Ignore CMD Encryption
0x80285CD0:dword:0x93A30008
0x80285CD4:dword:0x93C3000C
0x80285CD8:dword:0x93E30010
$Disable CAM
0x80073BD8:dword:0x98650025
$Seat Loop patch
0x800BE10C:dword:0x4800002C
$Stuck loop patch
0x8002E100:dword:0x60000000
$60times Loop patch
0x8028B5D4:dword:0x60000000
$GameTestMode Patch
0x8002E340:dword:0x60000000
0x8002E34C:dword:0x60000000
$SeatLoopPatch
0x80084FC4:dword:0x4800000C
0x80085000:dword:0x60000000
[OnFrame_Enabled]
$99 credits
$DVDInquiry Patchok
$Ignore CMD Encryption
$Disable CAM
$Seat Loop patch
$Stuck loop patch
$60times Loop patch
$GameTestMode Patch
$SeatLoopPatch
[EmuState]
EmulationIssues = AM-Baseboard

go to the patches tab and make sure the code are selected and then go to the Gecko tab make sure the code are selected as well. close the properties.

2. start the game and insert coin (gamecube Z button). Hit the gas or start and keep going until you see a "do you have a mario kart card" screen. Do not push anything and save the slate here. (note: if you get a call attendant error, you took to long to save, try it again)

3. In the Dolphin menu, go to Emulation -> save slate -> choose a slot (shift+F1 is the shortcut for save slot 1)



4. Close Dolphin 4.0-309 and open Dolphin 4.0-315.

5. Setup up Dolphin 4.0-315 paths and GC controls Next open Options-> Configure -> Gamecube and change SP1 and Port 1 to "AM-Baseboard".

(Your save slates should be as default in your documents folder, you do not need to do anything since its the default place)

(R trigger is gas, L trigger is Brake, A is throw and Z is coin)

6. Right Click on the game and click on "edit config" on the bottom. If its not already there, repaste the hack.

Quote
[Gecko]
$Button Activator for L and R Trigger [CosmoCortney]
28858D32 0000XXXX
*L = 0200
*R = 0100
*L + R = 0300
$Infinite Time in Races [CosmoCortney]
046D0F8C 447A0000
[OnFrame]
$99 credits
0x80690AC0:dword:0x00000063
$DVDInquiry Patchok
0x80286388:dword:0x3C602100
0x8028638C:dword:0x4E800020
$Ignore CMD Encryption
0x80285CD0:dword:0x93A30008
0x80285CD4:dword:0x93C3000C
0x80285CD8:dword:0x93E30010
$Disable CAM
0x80073BD8:dword:0x98650025
$Seat Loop patch
0x800BE10C:dword:0x4800002C
$Stuck loop patch
0x8002E100:dword:0x60000000
$60times Loop patch
0x8028B5D4:dword:0x60000000
$GameTestMode Patch
0x8002E340:dword:0x60000000
0x8002E34C:dword:0x60000000
$SeatLoopPatch
0x80084FC4:dword:0x4800000C
0x80085000:dword:0x60000000
[OnFrame_Enabled]
$99 credits
$DVDInquiry Patchok
$Ignore CMD Encryption
$Disable CAM
$Seat Loop patch
$Stuck loop patch
$60times Loop patch
$GameTestMode Patch
$SeatLoopPatch
[EmuState]
EmulationIssues = AM-Baseboard

go to the patches tab and make sure the code are selected and then go to the Gecko tab make sure the code are selected as well. close the properties.

7. start the game and load your save slate (default shortcut is F1). You will need to load your save slate everytime =(. if you want to play mario kart gp2 with less hassle, scroll up and go to my Mario Kart GP 2 link.

8. enjoy Mario Kart GP2

This is example of the point system. I unlocked the Balanced Kart (You have to create a save slate before you close emu if you want to keep track and load it up again eveytime you play)



« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 05:38:14 pm by SegaOutrun »

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 455
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 06:52:25 pm »
This seems like an ideal opportunity to shamelessly plug one of my YouTube videos...

Mario Kart Arcade GP Vs Mario Kart Arcade GP 2 (Dolphin Triforce)


Excellent tutorial BTW dude.

Sp3c7r3

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2014, 03:53:39 am »
what kind of machine do you need to run this?

I have a 2,93ghz i3, 4gb ddr3 ram and a gt630 (2gb) graphics card. Is that enough? Don't want to spend time on this if it's useless in the end.

lolomc2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2014, 07:38:37 am »
It's more than enough for a CRT screen @640x480. I have a C2D@8400 with an ATI Radeon HD 43xx + calamity drivers and GP2 is running well.

lolomc2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2014, 04:32:24 pm »
@SegaOutrun
Thank you for sharing that. Can you play with wheel to GP2 ? If yes, could you share the configuration about it ?

Thank you

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 402
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2014, 10:50:03 pm »
@SegaOutrun
Thank you for sharing that. Can you play with wheel to GP2 ? If yes, could you share the configuration about it ?

Thank you

yup, thats the whole point. It easy, just map your wheel to the gamecube controller, R trigger is gas, L trigger is Brake, A is throw, Z is coin and main stick L+R is steering.

here an old vid of my cab playing gp2. I have updated the PC so I can at a higher res and update my wheel to a better quality one since this vid.

Mario Kart GP 2 on Dolphin Triforce in my Racing cab

ElGuato84VE

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2015, 03:44:53 am »
THANNNNNNNNKKKKK YOUUUUUUUUUU !!!!!! 
THE OPTION 2 (UPDATE) Worked for me. I have an ISO but the first option never worked for me in 4.0. -309, just fatal error unknow dvd command ed00000000.      Now both codes .inis  and change to am board worked perfect!!!!!!!!!

 :applaud:
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 11:25:31 am by ElGuato84VE »

gavme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2015, 10:13:16 am »
Is the above information still correct? Dolphin still just crashes for me when I click play.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 455
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2015, 05:42:07 pm »
Is the above information still correct? Dolphin still just crashes for me when I click play.

The above information is still correct because it pertains to previously released, very specific numbered builds of the Triforce version of Dolphin - this won't work with just any old version. Just follow SegaOutrun's instructions, using the exact versions of Dolphin he recommends (which he's even provided links for) and you'll be able to play it. Simples.

mickael28

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2017, 11:42:25 am »
Thanks, I was having a problem with a failing link, but it seems it's working now.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2017, 12:04:00 pm by mickael28 »

mickael28

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: How to: Mario GP 1 on Dolphin Triforce (update: and GP2 on 4.0-315)
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2017, 05:27:24 pm »
I've been trying it for a while today, pretty good. A couple of doubts if you guys have played before:

1. Is there any way to setup the rumble/Force feedback in dolphin for GP1 or GP2? I can see my wheel rumbling on the options, but nothing happens when the game starts (I choose all options inside the rumble menu)
2. Is there a way to change the camera in this game? I doubt it, but just in case I'm missing it, like driving inside the kart...
3. Any idea how one can drift here? I'm just used to the Mario Kart DS, where one could turn, brake, move the cursor to the oposite direction (and you could do this a few times to get more speed when leaving the corner). But I'm trying something similar here, and the only thing I seem to do is kind of bumping against the walls or taking the corners too wide, not a proper drift...
« Last Edit: August 21, 2017, 07:11:26 pm by mickael28 »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31