Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Single audio power amp pinout  (Read 800 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
Single audio power amp pinout
« on: September 24, 2014, 09:27:14 am »
One of the ceramic caps blew on the classic force speaker amp board. Trying to fix it but i dont have any specs on what uF it is. Anyone know?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3965
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2014, 11:11:22 am »
i will grab an amp today and let u know

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2014, 11:41:03 am »
cool thanks

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5921
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2014, 01:51:25 pm »
i removed it an measured it (since i happen have one right here.)

it's 0.1uf

looks like it's just doing some bypass filtering (one side is connected to ground). you may not even need it. remove it and see if it works. most common failure of these caps is shorting out.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 01:56:50 pm by lilshawn »

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2014, 01:57:01 pm »
i removed it an measured it (since i have one right here. it's 0.1uf

looks like it's just doing some bypass filtering (one side is connected to ground). you may not even need it. remove it and see if it works. most common failure of these caps is shorting out.

Thanks shawn. I think i have some 0.1uf caps in one of my parts bins. One of the traces burned up aswell so i will have to repair the trace anyway so might aswell replace the cap even if its not needed. :cheers:

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3965
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2014, 02:16:57 pm »
ya c5 is a .1 bypass
noteing to worrie about
looking at the board now
thk's for the help shawn


ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3965
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2014, 10:10:14 pm »
did the 12v rail go south on that thing?
as there is a 16v filter cap in there also.

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
Re: Single audio power amp pinout
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2014, 08:56:56 am »
did the 12v rail go south on that thing?
as there is a 16v filter cap in there also.

ed

I dont know. I got the cabinet with the audio board, and classic force IO board still in it. It was actually a bonus because i was buying a bunch of empty XL/Maxx cabinets for like $20 each.

Anyway, I fixed it last night. I had some 1206 smd caps i could have used but it was easier to use a through hole type ceramic disc cap since the legs were used as a jumper for the traces that were burned up.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31