Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one  (Read 3952 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

trevwoollard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:November 09, 2019, 05:39:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« on: November 02, 2019, 06:37:42 pm »

Hi,

This is my first arcade cabinet which runs Retropie, Pet Cam and Alexa voice services. In the back are two Raspberry PIs (3B & 4B). It is fair to say I made plenty of school boy errors along the way and would change a few things for my next build. I definitely wouldn't try and do the artwork again!






Control Panel artwork....













yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19487
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:54:57 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2019, 07:41:27 pm »
Classic lines, 4:3 screen, didn't go overboard... nice job on your first try!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9756
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:11:50 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2019, 09:01:06 pm »
Looks fun, fits the space.

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
  • Last login:March 17, 2020, 08:58:19 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2019, 10:22:01 pm »
%Bartop

trevwoollard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:November 09, 2019, 05:39:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2019, 04:18:48 am »
Yes, unfortunately we donít have a games room and with teenage kids the kitchen is the busiest place in the house  :)

Richie_jones

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • Last login:January 18, 2021, 05:09:20 pm
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2019, 06:55:07 am »
How have you added alexa voice services.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4884
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:15:11 pm
  • card carrying purist
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2019, 10:23:53 am »
I give you extra points for putting it in the kitchen. It is a natural gathering place and it will see more use there.

trevwoollard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:November 09, 2019, 05:39:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2019, 10:54:21 am »
How have you added alexa voice services.

I purchased a Kinobo mini USB microphone and plugged it at the front of the cabinet to the plush mount USB panel (both from Amazon) which connects to the Raspberry PI inside. Then:

- Create Amazon dev account and register for the Alexa Voice Service (set up a new product)
- Download and install the voice service package on the PI
- Set the software to run on-boot
- Authenticate the device with Amazon via the dev portal

I simply followed these instructions:

I set the localisation to UK but it is not set to my home town (unlike Google home)....so some of the responses are a bit generic. I need to do a bit more digging the fine tune it


opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+15)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6021
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:22:56 pm
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2019, 11:02:31 am »
Agreed on the kitchen location.

Also good job on your first cab! At least you didnít angle your joysticks  :lol

DarakuTenshi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 289
  • Last login:February 12, 2020, 12:31:35 pm
    • Card Fighters Project
Re: First Arcade Cabinet - all-in-one
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2019, 05:04:38 pm »
I think you did an amazing job for your first outing. Man, I wish I had pictures of my first cab... it was ugly, huge, and I never finshed it. Basically once it got to the point of being able to be played I stopped working on it and played that thing to death.
My past arcade builds - Click to enlarge and get a closer look