Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks  (Read 31567 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ant2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 213
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #80 on: January 09, 2016, 05:40:05 pm »
I now have surround sound for daytona :) - sounds awesome.
Good work on this :)

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #81 on: January 13, 2016, 02:32:30 pm »
Hey Nuexzz, I think the reason you only got 20 cars is because you extracted them from Dinosaur Canyon, the Advanced track. Three Seven Speedway has all 40.

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #82 on: January 13, 2016, 02:39:54 pm »
now I have more than 100 cars rivals, I have to add the patch that is what takes me longer  :dunno :dunno

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #83 on: January 13, 2016, 05:03:49 pm »
Great! When will that new patch be out? I saw you even snuck the Indy Car in there!

N4HW3ll

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Daytona usa expert pro
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #84 on: January 13, 2016, 05:55:58 pm »
hey nuexzz, did ya found the cpu models of the 8 online cars?  ;D

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #85 on: January 14, 2016, 01:05:04 am »
yes they are 1- to 100 and more  ;D

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #86 on: January 14, 2016, 07:04:49 am »
yes they are 1- to 100 and more  ;D

Hey, can you please tell me the memory addresses of each car?

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1104
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #87 on: January 14, 2016, 07:45:58 am »
Hey, can you please tell me the memory addresses of each car?

there are a few things to note:

each "car" in the game has some basic values like the position, rotation and models (yes, multiple) as well as information on "what" it is and "who" controls is (player + node, cpu, script etc.)

A list of notable "models" can be found here.
Most of the cars are available in 4 versions (polygon count goes lower every time) - and they get changed all the time while driving (based on the distance to the camera/player).

side fact - daytona still have some leftovers from virtua racing and virtua stock car (daytona's working title on model1) :) {and virtua stock car is even left in the artworks 3rd car on the front (white)}
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #88 on: January 14, 2016, 08:51:49 am »
Okay, thanks. Are those all the AI cars, or only the 20 that Nuexzz found before? And also. how do you put these in game with a lua script?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 11:20:08 am by Daveybird »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1104
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #89 on: January 14, 2016, 11:59:05 am »
Okay, thanks. Are those all the AI cars, or only the 20 that Nuexzz found before? And also. how do you put these in game with a lua script?

Did you even look at the list?

Anyway...
CAR1 starts at RAMBASE + 0x5180
CAR2 starts at RAMBASE + 0x5480
CAR3 starts at RAMBASE + 0x5780
CAR4 starts at RAMBASE + 0x5A80
and so on...

to change the primary model of CAR1 you would change RAMBASE + 0x5180 + 0x0014
to change the secondary model of CAR1 you would change RAMBASE + 0x5180 + 0x0258

Code: [Select]
RAMBASE=0x00500000;
CAR1    =0x5180;
CAR2    =0x5480;
CAR3    =0x5780;
CAR4    =0x5A80;
MODL1  =0x0014;
MODL2  =0x0258;
function Frame()
  -- change primary model of car1 to "virtua stock car"
  I960_WriteDWord(RAMBASE + CAR1 + MODL1, 0x028439E4);

  -- change secondary model of car1 to "none"
  I960_WriteDWord(RAMBASE + CAR1 + MODL2, 0);
end
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 12:03:53 pm by SailorSat »
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #90 on: January 14, 2016, 12:34:55 pm »
Okay thanks, it worked. I found some additional cars that you didn't list as well, doing some guesswork. Now how do you make the player car not have the player window (with the bars on the windshield and stuff) like Nuexzz did. and make it look like a straight up AI car?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 05:53:53 pm by Daveybird »

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #91 on: January 14, 2016, 07:28:21 pm »
haha what a coincidence! just today I was working on some polygons offsets  :P

Code: [Select]
RAMBASE + 0x1488,23

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #92 on: January 14, 2016, 07:34:38 pm »
Okay, thanks! So 1464 only works with the 20 AI cars you initially found?

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #93 on: January 14, 2016, 07:50:52 pm »
That's right, but .. this code is passed, and I have all cars including the safety car and minis (although the latter has bugs)

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #94 on: January 14, 2016, 08:08:04 pm »
That's right, but .. this code is passed, and I have all cars including the safety car and minis (although the latter has bugs)

Thanks! Can you please tell me which code has all cars, Nuexzz? Or is it the one SailorSat gave me?

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #95 on: January 14, 2016, 08:32:53 pm »
It is that they are quite different codes, is not all that easy as it seems. some have faults .if you expect will be a little better, all you'll have is, hey this car has a problem! etc.

Daveybird

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #96 on: January 14, 2016, 08:44:54 pm »
It is that they are quite different codes, is not all that easy as it seems. some have faults .if you expect will be a little better, all you'll have is, hey this car has a problem! etc.

Ohhhh, I see. Still some work to do, eh?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 06:37:48 pm by Daveybird »

angrorider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #97 on: February 21, 2016, 08:27:20 am »
I have a small problem with the GUI and the text is all bunched up together. I've had this problem with plenty of old programs on my last computer too. I'm just checking to see if others have this problem or do I have to enable a compatibility mode.

jtslade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 736
  • Keep it looking originallish!
Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #98 on: March 07, 2016, 10:02:01 am »
Awesome.. In the model 2 emu

Anyone else have a problem when using the Logitech G25.  No matter what I do the gas pedal just reacts weird.. Have seen this since day one.. Small press floors the pedal and then lifting off the pedal slams the brakes.. Anyone have weird gas pedal action?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: March 07, 2016, 05:32:47 pm by jtslade »
Ms. Pacman Original Cocktail with Non destructive mod to Groovy Arcade Linux with All 4way Vertical Cocktail capable 2 button or less games.


Neo Geo MVS Mame Cab Running Hyperspin, 25" Nanao Arcade Monitor, Mini-pac, Arcade VGA 3000, IL 8 Way Euro-Sticks from Paradise Arcade, Win XP 64bit, and tons of other junk.


ant2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 213
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #99 on: March 09, 2016, 05:08:23 pm »
Awesome.. In the model 2 emu

Anyone else have a problem when using the Logitech G25.  No matter what I do the gas pedal just reacts weird.. Have seen this since day one.. Small press floors the pedal and then lifting off the pedal slams the brakes.. Anyone have weird gas pedal action?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Make sure you invert the required axis. Iirc the brake needs to be inverted

eldiego

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #100 on: June 26, 2016, 12:24:13 am »
Hola Nuexzz te he enviado algunos pm, pero no me aparecen en la bandeja de enviados. luego te contacte por youtube, esta es mi ultima esperanza! jeje, estoy cambiando las texturas del auto pero tengo problemas para identificar cada parte del auto, por ejemplo en el techo le dicolor al numero pero no me cubrio todo el techo y no encuentro al textura debajo del numero...:( vos tendrias alguna lista con el nombre de cada textura yq eu parte del auto es? o tenes algun auto para compartirme y mirando ahi ya me arreglaria.
Muchas gracias!

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #101 on: June 26, 2016, 06:53:49 pm »
Hola DIEGO UFF la unica forma que tienes es poner una textura de color que tu puedas identificar y reemplazarla por la que ya esta en la carpeta scripts. lo siento en no poder ayudarte es que me costo tantoo trabajo localizar todos esos pedazos.
ahora estoy muy ocupado en mi vida real, lo siento.
saludos

eldiego

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #102 on: June 26, 2016, 07:01:22 pm »
No te hagas problema, seguire y seguire probando. Abrazo

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #103 on: June 27, 2016, 02:55:26 am »
Hello Nuexzz. Can you please a music patch that allows us to mute the background music in Daytona USA. The songs are cool and everything, but I kinda wanna do the whole custom soundtrack thing, since I plan on investing a significant amount of time in the game.

N4HW3ll

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Daytona usa expert pro
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #104 on: December 11, 2016, 02:53:15 pm »
so... is there any news or anything about the next version?, im kinda curious  :P

Renard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #105 on: February 18, 2017, 10:33:48 pm »
Hello everyone, and thanks a lot for your work SailorSat and Nuexzz! Impressive stuff really, and I'm so glad people are still playing around with the Model 2 :D

I'm trying to get a 8 players setup running for a summer week-end - a project just for kicks, and to hopefully allow people who never saw the game to experience it - and I'll definitely use part of your work to ease things up. Right now for instance I'm using Daytona++ to test out a few things, especially to force the panoramic attract mode with the "deluxe" cab settings (much better colors on the generic LCD screens I'll be using).

I've had a few fun glitches so far:
- if machine #8 isn't set as Master, it will only run the solo demo instead of the panoramic one even if forced / patched apparently
- in a few occasions, I've had machine #8 (when as slave) also lose the upper text layer, used for the "insert coin" texts and, funnily enough, the Daytona logo itself: http://i.imgur.com/W2PU3xw.png?1
- I've also had machine #3 lose the whole 3D layer once for no reason, but it came back when next synced with the title screen

Right now I'm looking into how to directly patch the m2emu in order to force the panoramic attract mode, without having to use Nuexzz' launcher; it would allow me to autostart the game upon boot with the feature enabled while still using the "Deluxe" cab setting, which would be convenient if I have to restart the computers after a crash or something. How does one do this? I'm also looking into visualizing instances of m2emu, to cut down costs on computers and to have less hardware to carry around (unfortunately, m2emu doesn't allow the users to dedicate a fullscreen instance to a given screen, and tools such as BorderlessGaming only stretch the windowed mode which then looks very ugly on a LCD... so having m2emu containers might be the best option, I think).

Also, last but not least: are you in Germany, SailorSat? My little experiment will hopefully be setup in Stuttgart. :P

Miknoian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Daytona USA ++ Patch - Modding and Hacks
« Reply #106 on: May 03, 2017, 11:00:01 pm »
Hello guys; I've been enjoying this mod immensely, however, I do have a question regarding input. Is there any way to adjust the driving sensitivity when using a 360 controller? As it stands, the controls are very touchy for me. Thank you.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31