Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?  (Read 5883 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

stan2323

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Last login:July 04, 2022, 02:56:39 pm
  • Major Retired USS Enterprise Commanding
    • My home page
Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« on: January 23, 2014, 11:03:34 pm »
Has anyone used a BeagleBone Black to run MAME?  I have seen a few projects that people tried but could not get the install to work for some reason.   Then later gave up and used a PC or something else.

I do not want to hear all the use a free PC you will get more games. :blah: :blah: :blah:  Stick to the question please.

Stan
Careful what you wish for you may get it!!
There are 10 kind of people in the world those that understand binary and those that do not!!

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 12:30:30 am »
If it runs Android, I am sure it will run Mame.

$45 is a bit expensive when you can get a cheap 7 inch tablet that can do the same thing at the same price.  Like an A-pad.  Tinker wise, I am sure the beagle board black has some benefits.  Heck a Raspi could be cheaper on ebay.
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19886
  • Last login:Today at 03:16:23 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2014, 08:27:29 am »
I do not want to hear all the use a free PC you will get more games. :blah: :blah: :blah:  Stick to the question please.

Stan

No.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10992
  • Last login:March 29, 2022, 06:10:15 pm
  • Awesome face!
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2014, 12:43:10 pm »
Has anyone used a BeagleBone Black to run MAME?  I have seen a few projects that people tried but could not get the install to work for some reason.   Then later gave up and used a PC or something else.

I do not want to hear all the use a free PC you will get more games. :blah: :blah: :blah:  Stick to the question please.

Stan

I have not used a BeagleBone Black to run mame, I couldn't think of a situation in which doing so would make any sense.  :burgerking:
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

bjamis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:February 14, 2016, 08:16:57 pm
  • Cooking PCB's like a pound of bacon
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2014, 07:31:30 pm »
Sadly, you may be better off asking in the Beagleboard forums. Many here seem quite resistant to the RPi/BBB. I haven't come across any succesful BB Black + MAME projects yet. That said, please post here if you get it working, I'm interested!

bjamis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:February 14, 2016, 08:16:57 pm
  • Cooking PCB's like a pound of bacon

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19886
  • Last login:Today at 03:16:23 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2014, 09:30:55 pm »
Video?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 09:34:15 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

dgencare

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 24, 2014, 11:01:37 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2014, 08:28:34 pm »
I have not posted a video but will when I get a chance. The problem with getting mame to run on the BBB was not mame, its getting a working window manager with audio. I ended up going with Lightdm, not that it matters.

Make sure to grab the latest image if you give it a try. I've made a few improvements since the original.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1847
  • Last login:June 28, 2022, 08:37:37 am
  • Web Developer.
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2015, 08:52:48 am »
If it runs Android, I am sure it will run Mame.

$45 is a bit expensive when you can get a cheap 7 inch tablet that can do the same thing at the same price.  Like an A-pad.  Tinker wise, I am sure the beagle board black has some benefits.  Heck a Raspi could be cheaper on ebay.

Does that cheap 7" tablet have I/O pins and some sort of video out? A tablet and a development board are two totally different things.

Vigo

  • the Scourage of Carpathia
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6415
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:16:38 am
Re: Anyone get BeagleBone Black to run MAME?
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2015, 01:46:47 pm »
Well, those Winbooks have HDMI and USB outs.