Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Connecting my PC's VGA output to my CRT TV's component input  (Read 4471 times)

cloudeleven

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:July 26, 2023, 07:19:06 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Connecting my PC's VGA output to my CRT TV's component input
« on: October 07, 2021, 03:13:20 am »
Hi, I'm pretty new to this, but I've been reading a lot here trying to figure out what to do. I eventually want to dive into GroovyMAME, but not right now...baby steps  :lol. I acquired a CRT TV with component input today (an LG DU-27FB32C that accepts a 480i signal). At the moment I'm just trying to connect my PC's VGA output port to the TV's component input to get regular MAMEUI to display on the TV. Is this cable (and a male-male component cable) all I need for that?

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Cable-Adapter-Component-HD15CPNTMF/dp/B00213KFHW/ref=sr_1_16?dchild=1&keywords=vga+to+component+transcoder&qid=1633588545&sr=8-16

The reviews say your VGA pins need to output component for that cable to work, and I think mine does (see attached pic of the VGA port, it has 15 pins). My PC is a Dell Inspiron 3670 using Windows 10 and the VGA port is the motherboard onboard graphics (Intel UHD Graphics 630, I don't have a dedicated graphics card).