Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......  (Read 1245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wild_eyed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......
« on: December 12, 2013, 11:30:21 am »
Hi all, just finishing up a little hobbie project here.

and i want a simple way to power them.
i am adding a 12Volt 10watt amp for speakers and 3 sets of 12Volt Led stripsn old

i have a few 12volt adapters here, is it possible to use one to power all of these devices?

also what ampage should i be using in the adapter?

here are the links to devices im using.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/151019325480?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/270792987344?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5577
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 02:19:56 pm »
the LED's probably draw 30mA each x24 lights is around 720mA. round that up to 800.

while i don't know the specifics of your amp, your amp rating and voltage calculates to about 830 mA but probably only about 70% efficient. so around 1000mA (1 amp) for that.

you are looking at 1800mA total so you are likely going to need someplace in the neighborhood of 2000mA ((2 amps) power supply to power your lights and amp to allow for some overhead.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3812
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 03:51:59 pm »
thats about right..good math right there shawn
what i do is get a old lappie supply and use it,in lue of that
surley u have a 200-300 watt old putter supply laying around??
just take the 1 line to ground that it needs to turn on >without <mother board
green i do think
and u have a stand alone 12v high output >current< supply
wala problem solved

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5577
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2013, 04:55:08 pm »
the only problem i can see with using a computer supply is that some of the cheaper ones only regulate the 3.3 volt and/or 5 volt side of the supply and base the other voltages off that one.

if you just use the 12 volt off the computer supply, the regulation isn't any good because the regulated voltages are basically unloaded. so what you end up with is a 12 volt supply that may vary wildly or stay low (like 10 volts)  since the supply thinks there is no load at all.

the peter chou arcade supplies are the same, they regulate only the 5 volt. the 12 volt goes really low without a 5 volt load if you put a load on the 5 volt line, the 12 volt pops up to 12.  :dunno

a wall wart or laptop power supply would probably suit just fine.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3812
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Powering 12volt soundamp and 12volt Led Strip......
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2013, 07:14:49 pm »
ya i run lappie supplys alot of the times
olny time i have seen a big box unit run wild is when the caps are ready to go south.

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31