Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video  (Read 3936 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« on: November 19, 2013, 07:53:45 am »
I have an ION ASUS board in an AURORA countertop that will turn on the power supply and start but does not display any video.  I get the monitor "DSUB Analog" no signal error message on screen.

There are no obvious bad caps and I have tried swapping the Processor and  RAM.

What are my chances that this is repairable?

THANKS

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 495
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2013, 09:46:21 am »
Two things to try. #1 try resetting the cmos by removing the battery and shorting the cmos jumper header pins for 30 seconds then replace the cmos battery with a new one.#2 If that doesnt get your video back, find an old agp video card and see if you atleast get video on screen. If #1 doesnt work and #2 does, and you can boot into the game without triggering "wrong motherboard" error then you might be back in biz. repairing the onboard video chip would cost more then its worth. (bga footprint) requires specialized equipment.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3965
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2013, 10:57:04 am »
i always thought the dsub error was the unit not seeing the monitor
auto turn on circuit ?
but yes dump the cmos..
also u could hook any ol lcd to it to test
the bga style chips are a pain..i have all the nessary equ. for it..
some times i just tell the coust u can replace xx for less then it will cost u to have me repair xx

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5922
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2013, 07:49:58 pm »
doublecheck with another monitor. make sure it's the motherboard not outputting and not the monitor board

you find any coins from the acceptor on the motherboard?

more times than i can count ive found a coin ,makes it's way onto the motherboard and wedges itself between the rear metal near the centronics connector and the regulators near the CPU. often they short out there and burn out. 80% of the time i can swap out that regulator and it will boot again.


smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2013, 08:00:24 am »
Thank You gentlemen for the replies.

Yes ...board was connected to a bench monitor and it is definitely does not display any video. I did not find any quarters on the board.

I removed the battery and now board only turns on if I short the  Power ON pins, pins 6+7, on the edge connector with the same results.

Which of these edge connector pins are the CMOS ones?

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 495
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2013, 09:55:20 am »
There should be 3 pins near the battery that has a jumper on pins 1&2 you need to remove it and connect it to pins 2&3 for 30 seconds then put back on 1&2 while the batter is removed. This will definitely reset it. But it does sound like your video chipset took a $hit. Honest suggestion, replace the mobo with a D945GCLF/D945GCLF2. Depending on your model aurora you may need to make a few brackets to mount it in place but it should without a doubt fit.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5922
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2013, 10:09:34 am »
The D945GCLF board is the board they use in the RX model of megatouch. it will take a 2 or 3 reboots, but the software should eventually pick it up and swap the drivers over to the intel board.

this is currently the best solution for a board swap on the ION series, as most of the asus boards are refurb or used and are probably getting close to croaking anyways. The D945GCLF(2) is still available at some vendors as new stock. i wouldn't even consider the purple ECS board for anything.

P.S. if you do have a machine with the purple ECS board (like the elite edge etc.) and it's still working, put a fan on the chipset it will last much longer.

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2013, 09:00:14 am »
Thanks....Wish me luck...I need it.

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2013, 09:04:10 am »
Bad news...Boards dead...still no video.

Took an ASUS board from an ION EVO and put it in this AURORA because of the crappy tray design of the board cavity being so tight and invisible.

Put the INTEL D945 into the EVO with my patented lexan bracket because I have done it a few times already.

THANKS again for your help....
 
:cheers:

STL_Tom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2014, 10:10:44 am »
Bad news...Boards dead...still no video.

Took an ASUS board from an ION EVO and put it in this AURORA because of the crappy tray design of the board cavity being so tight and invisible.

Put the INTEL D945 into the EVO with my patented lexan bracket because I have done it a few times already.

THANKS again for your help....
 
:cheers:

Do you have any dimensions or help with that bracket you make?

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 495
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2014, 11:54:25 am »


Do you have any dimensions or help with that bracket you make?

If you can find yourself a cheap micro atx case that can be used with mini itx motherboard, you could cut the mounting bracket out of it with a dremel. Ive seen them cases on ebay for like $15 shipped. Doubt your going to buy the lexan or mounting posts and labor cheaper then that.

smartbomb2084

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 642
  • Having a SMART phone will make you DUMB.
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2014, 11:56:41 am »
The bracket I made only works for ASUS boards... you are gonna have to get creative.

Basicall all it does is make the smaller INTEL board roughly the same size as the original ASUS so it uses the provided screw bosses  and board hold down clips and corners.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3965
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: MEGATOUCH ION ASUS...No Video
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2014, 12:58:19 pm »
ya i did that with p/c stand off's
on an ion thats mobo went south
got it to fit,but man was it a tad tight
had to reroute the powr supply wires,then i had to turn the sata up-side down..
and put on a smaller cpu fan

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31