Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Noob question about resistors for LEDs, but for opto-isolator.  (Read 6811 times)

BadMouth

• Trade Count: (+6)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:14:16 pm
I'm still a noob at this stuff, in fact I think I've regressed since not playing with it for a few months.

At 5v, what's the lowest value resistor I can use on the IR LED side of this opto-isolator without having to worry about it burning up in a month?
http://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20Sheets/Lite-On%20PDFs/LTV-817_827_847(M,S,S_TA1).pdf
If I'm doing things correctly, an online calculator is telling me 82ohm, but that seems low to me.

I was under the impression that opto-isolators were like switches, but after building my circuit on the breadboard, I see it's more like a transistor where the input affects the output.  I'm making a circuit that switches between two resistances when an optoisolator is tripped and didn't account for the optoisolator itself adding resistance.  I got down to a 220 ohm resistor on the anode before getting a low enough resistance on the collector/emitter side.  But I would like to go even lower for the sake of being able to adjust it with a pot elsewhere in the circuit.