Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???  (Read 2113 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ScottoKong

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« on: May 19, 2013, 05:44:17 am »
Hi All

I'm finally getting back to my racing cab - Been getting my pinball machines up and running. 

Had a thread ages ago over at the project announcements thread.

I've managed to get a servo hack happening with an old Crusin USA cab and a pot based logitech wheel.

Originally I only really wanted to play daytona and sega rally.

Got FFB happening great with daytona, sega rally has wobbles between stages, but greeat in game.

I need to work out how to interface the replacement happ shifter i'm buying.
originally I was planning to interface it via a keyboard encoder rather than mess with diodes on the logitech board.

Can someone confirm - will a keyboard encoder cause issues with PC games?
THinking that PC games only take 1 input??? 
It seems that model 2 is fine with 2 inputs???

Any advice is really appreciated!

Scott

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8492
  • ...
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2013, 10:46:46 am »
I cannot think of any games or emulators that won't accept keyboard input in addition to a controller.  I went the keyboard encoder route for my buttons and haven't come across any issues.

That said, diodes aren't complicated things. 


I added a link to your build thread to the sticky at the top of this forum.
Please post more pics of that cab if you have them!
« Last Edit: May 21, 2013, 10:56:33 am by BadMouth »

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1083
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2013, 04:43:26 pm »
When I was using the happ shifter, I used diodes.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1083
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 04:48:50 pm »
Now that I have my G-25 mounted in the dash. I was thinking about making it so I could swap out the 6 speed shifter for the happ 4 speed or a happ turbo speed shifter.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

ScottoKong

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 11:04:45 pm »
Thanks for the replies.

I was kinda hoping not to use the buttons on the wheel - I've hacked it to interface with the Happ controls in  my Crusin Cab.

For Model 2 this was gonna be fine but PC games are mucking me around.

BADMOUTH - I'm sure that you had hyperspin controlled via the steering wheel - ie changing games.  Mine just wants to scroll continuously when its enabled.
 
Also Outrun 2006 - whats the best way to interface gears????
I'm really struggling to customise controls.
I'm assuming a 4 switch shifter wont work as most cars will have more that 4 gears???

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1083
  • Yep... I built that!!
         

Fursphere

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2013, 11:03:38 am »
Here you go http://na.suzohapp.com/all_catalogs/driving_controls/50-0414-40  :cheers:

From the website..

Quote
Warehouse   Qty Avail
Mount Prospect, IL   0
Las Vegas, NV   0
Bloomington, MN   0

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1083
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2013, 12:11:43 pm »
Oops missed that

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

ScottoKong

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2013, 07:57:39 pm »
Got a supplier for these in Australia.
Will this work with Outrun2006???

http://na.suzohapp.com/all_catalogs/driving_controls/50-8110-00

If so I think I'll end up with a 4 speed shifter and 1 of these.

Scott

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1083
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2013, 10:20:43 pm »
Thats what my turbo shifter is like. There are some PC games that use that kind of shifter. Flatout for one. Love that game!

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8492
  • ...
Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2013, 09:22:39 am »
Having both shifters will work fine, or you could use 1st and 2nd for up and down, but they won't automatically return to center which sucks.

TheSharkFactor drilled holes in the wheel and added buttons for the up/down.
I looked at his build thread, but there are no really good pics.  Pretty sure I saw some on other websites.

I prefer using paddles for games that have more than 4 gears, but that can get pretty involved.
I made a paddle setup for my new dash, but I have a fair amount of money in it, it was a PITA to put together and I haven't tested it much to see if it's reliable.

Just using the up/down shifter is probably the easiest route.
The author of RacerMAME had another program that will make that shifter also work for the 4 speed games in MAME & Model 2 (Supermodel supports it without any additional programs).  That way you'd only need one shifter.  Follow the links to RacerMAME in the driving cab info thread.


That wasn't me who was using Hyperspin.  It was mbasile35. http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,114400.msg1223406.html#msg1223406
I think it's a pretty cool concept for driving cabs and would like to see a driving cab theme available for download someday.

brad808

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
Re: Re: My HAPP FFB cab - Advice re shifter interface???
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2013, 09:35:12 am »

Just using the up/down shifter is probably the easiest route.
The author of RacerMAME had another program that will make that shifter also work for the 4 speed games in MAME & Model 2 (Supermodel supports it without any additional programs).  That way you'd only need one shifter.  Follow the links to RacerMAME in the driving cab info thread.


This is what I do, works awesome. The only one real downside to this method is that say I finish a game of Daytona in 4th gear and start a new race the gear select will still be in fourth. Unless of course you exit the emulator and reload it. Not a game changer by any means but just something to be aware of.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31