Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide  (Read 10994 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7865
  • My arcade cabinet has a cup holder.
lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« on: April 03, 2013, 10:14:30 pm »
This guide was originally posted on the old speksnk forums by lucisac.
It covers nearly everything, including networking.

I thought it was lost until coming accross it on a Japanese site that I couldn't copy and paste from.  :timebomb:

Thanks to Drnick for posting a plain text copy.

Here it is formatted:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KiKUFqyLXt-HcVD_3drWIy9xI-aIcdQsY07bPiy7T2g/edit?usp=sharing

Not sure if both are needed, but if you're having trouble with it crashing when a game is launched, try installing both these runtimes:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
(Although newer versions of DirectX support all the older versions, newer computers are usually missing these runtimes)

EDIT: Also attached
« Last Edit: November 05, 2015, 04:12:06 pm by BadMouth »

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 171
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 03:05:29 am »
 Daytona Online Tool (dev) User Guide for the M2 Emu :tool:

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 558
  • I'm a llama!
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 02:52:17 pm »
Wow lucisac.... haven't heard from him in a while. That was my dude. Had some great discussions with  him on the old nebula forum. He was EXTREMELY passionate about posting various things on the forum. It was getting so bad Wesker had to silence him at one point! :lol Those were the days.  :burgerking:

Lucisac if you're out there reading this come in and say whaddup dude.

twistedsymphony

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 579
  • Play stupid games... win stupid prizes.
    • solid-orange.com
    • CollectorsEdition.org
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2013, 10:47:40 am »
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11979
  • 說好話 做好事 存好心
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2013, 12:12:50 pm »
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.

soft15 or an arcade VGA card, set custom full screen resolution in Model 2
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award

Latest project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

Latest Restore?
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html
Killer Instinct Cab

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1056
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2013, 10:26:53 pm »
ok, I must be doing something wrong. I am trying to get this to work over lan..
         

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1056
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2013, 11:18:16 pm »
Ok got it going, one machine is really lagging.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

twistedsymphony

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 579
  • Play stupid games... win stupid prizes.
    • solid-orange.com
    • CollectorsEdition.org
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2013, 03:59:36 pm »
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.

soft15 or an arcade VGA card, set custom full screen resolution in Model 2

Do either of those actually support 24K? Last time I looked into Arcade VGA it only did 15K...

EDIT: ok it appears that 24K has actually been added to ArcadeVGA, interesting, thanks!
« Last Edit: June 01, 2013, 04:03:19 pm by twistedsymphony »

goingcheapnow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2013, 11:54:58 pm »
Hi Guys, I'm having issues trying to get sega model 2 daytona over LAN working. Keeps saying network board not present.. any ideas? I've modified the m2network.ini to include the below on each machine. Where xxx.xxx.xx.xx is the IP address that comes up in IPconfig. Is this right?

[network]
RxPort=1978
NextIP=xxx.xxx.xx.xx
NextPort=1978

So machine 1 has in the NextIP the IP address of the other PC. I've tried using a standard LAN cable and also a cross over cable. What am i doing wrong?

Thanks
Mal

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11979
  • 說好話 做好事 存好心
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2013, 07:24:57 am »
can you ping each computer from the other? Did you turn off any firewalls that might be running?
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award

Latest project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

Latest Restore?
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html
Killer Instinct Cab

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7865
  • My arcade cabinet has a cup holder.
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2013, 12:31:36 pm »
HI've tried using a standard LAN cable and also a cross over cable. What am i doing wrong?

I haven't done it, but I'm pretty sure you need to connect both computers to a router, not just each other.

goingcheapnow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2013, 09:50:25 pm »
Hi Malenko, i've set IPs for both machines and can now Ping to each, originally it was 1 way but now both ping to each other. all firewalls are off.

Badmouth, havent tried a router. might have to do that as nothing else is working, it doesnt seem to be searching for connection, just does the cancelled network board not present.

hmmm .. .frustrating :)

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1056
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2013, 11:08:52 pm »
Example IP on PC 1 is 192.161.1.4 & PC 2 is 192.168.1.7 make PC 1 network ini 192.168.1.7 and PC 2 192.168.1.4 that is the loop. Make each on look for each other. I did it over wifi and there was bad lag.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11979
  • 說好話 做好事 存好心
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2013, 11:41:02 pm »
Example IP on PC 1 is 192.161.1.4 & PC 2 is 192.168.1.7 make PC 1 network ini 192.168.1.7 and PC 2 192.168.1.4 that is the loop. Make each on look for each other. I did it over wifi and there was bad lag.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

^This is the next step. If they can ping each other, then they can talk to each other. Set the ini's right and you should be good to go.
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award

Latest project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

Latest Restore?
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html
Killer Instinct Cab

goingcheapnow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2013, 12:42:17 am »
we have success :) woohoo .... daytona work, sega rally works (Steering in menus vibrates way too much) but others having issues with working so will keep working on those...

Brian74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1056
  • Yep... I built that!!
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2013, 12:54:40 am »
Good, glad I could help :))

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

         

goingcheapnow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2013, 01:14:05 am »
Thanks, now just to see if can iron out the few bugs :)

AMG KC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2014, 04:20:49 am »
Wow lucisac.... haven't heard from him in a while. That was my dude. Had some great discussions with  him on the old nebula forum. He was EXTREMELY passionate about posting various things on the forum. It was getting so bad Wesker had to silence him at one point! :lol Those were the days.  :burgerking:

Lucisac if you're out there reading this come in and say whaddup dude.
Yes had many a race with Lucisac back in the day, almost every night for quite a while. He wasnt too bad at driving either, he got into playing RPGs and lost interest in Daytona, which was unfortunate. That was probably 5 years ago now.

sega_mad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2014, 03:53:00 am »
Goingcheapnow

Just setting up 2 machines now.

Did you need a router to make this work, or just a network cable between the 2 LAN ports??

Would you mind posting your setup, what folders required on each computer etc

Many thanks

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11979
  • 說好話 做好事 存好心
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2015, 04:54:42 pm »
Goingcheapnow

Just setting up 2 machines now.

Did you need a router to make this work, or just a network cable between the 2 LAN ports??

Would you mind posting your setup, what folders required on each computer etc

Many thanks

if you manually configure IPs and use a cross over cable you can do it without a router, however, given the choice I'd use a cheapie POS 10/100 router before I used a cross over cable.
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award

Latest project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

Latest Restore?
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html
Killer Instinct Cab

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31