Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3  (Read 2091 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« on: April 03, 2013, 12:10:13 pm »
I realized that this functionality can be performed with any emulator or game with a simple png image, you can add scanlines long as you respect the alpha plane.
someone with image editing skills you want to test must be based on the images we have in the source folder \ base.png (maintaining the same structure of transparency, resolution and canvas.

extract the files where you have the emulator (for now only works in windowed mode)






« Last Edit: April 03, 2013, 03:17:51 pm by Nuexzz »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17119
  • Last login:Today at 05:22:00 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: McaBFaKe HLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2013, 02:48:37 pm »
That's cool, but I think you really need to rename this.  HLSL = a pixel shader. 

What you are doing is an overlay.  There is a BIG difference.  HLSL can distort and separate the image at the pixel level, while an overlay can only mask off part of the screen via the help of a texture. 

Don't misunderstand I'm sure people will find it useful, I'm just saying...

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
  • Last login:March 09, 2019, 01:15:31 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 04:10:21 pm »
post a pic of daytona 2 with full scanlines and I'll be a believer :)

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 03:09:31 am »
@Howard_Casto ,ok no problem I understand, is why the same fake name hehe

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2013, 03:11:34 am »
post a pic of daytona 2 with full scanlines and I'll be a believer :)

I hate to use image editors, but I will prepare something for you to see  ;)

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2013, 03:56:02 am »
something fast




there is still a problem with the alpha channel seems clear skin, I'll be working on it.

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 04:47:40 am »
I am improving my image editing hehe




Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17119
  • Last login:Today at 05:22:00 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2013, 05:31:55 am »
You don't have to do model2 btw.... overlays can be added via the lua script system.  There's a script I posted over in the TS2 thread on the software forums. 

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
  • Last login:March 09, 2019, 01:15:31 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2013, 03:08:54 pm »
I am improving my image editing hehe



Interesting. :)

Howard what we would REALLY like is implementation of HLSL. Then we can adjust scanline effects to our hearts' content.

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2013, 07:09:04 pm »
There is currently a program (WindowFX) folding windows linux windows as it does, so i guess it's possible with a little work




http://www.stardock.com/products/windowfx/

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17119
  • Last login:Today at 05:22:00 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2013, 09:27:15 pm »
My guess it that's using win7/vista/8's aero functionality, which unfortunately is worthless for a fullscreen directX app.  Not to mention the fact that it's doubly worthless because a great majority still run XP on their cabs. 

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2013, 10:26:37 pm »
The program works for Windows XP and 7/8

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2013, 10:13:39 am »
Well here some videos because my research led me through the windows by unknown paths and twin windows could do without consuming resources through dlls windows 7.





still encounter problems with the window frame so here decided to remove.

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8509
  • Last login:Today at 07:25:02 pm
  • ...
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2013, 10:17:30 am »
Well here some videos because my research led me through the windows by unknown paths and twin windows could do without consuming resources through dlls windows 7.

So that is just 1 instance of the emulator running, but displayed in multiple windows?

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2013, 10:42:38 am »
Well here some videos because my research led me through the windows by unknown paths and twin windows could do without consuming resources through dlls windows 7.

So that is just 1 instance of the emulator running, but displayed in multiple windows?

exact my friend.

EDIT:here you have to model2 (recommend windowed mode from default on the emulator)

IMPORTANT !!Only works on Windows7.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2013, 10:46:14 am by Nuexzz »

Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Last login:Today at 07:09:44 am
Re: McaBFaKe GLSL for any emu... beginning in Model2 and Model3
« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2013, 10:35:46 am »
I was a bit bored and I decided to create something for a little more realism, even I have to connect the controller with multiple virtual driver images come alive  :P
Next breakthrough lamps views will add the virtual  in the bottom.

« Last Edit: April 26, 2013, 10:50:12 am by Nuexzz »