Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice  (Read 9817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Huskerfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« on: March 13, 2013, 05:58:08 pm »
I just called IT, the maker of Golden Tee.  The sales guy said I could just buy a beat up cabinet for the guts inside and then build my own cabinet to house the guts.  With that said here's a GT motherboard and hard drive on ebay.  Do you think this is all it takes to run Golden Tee?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Golden-Tee-Fore-2005-Arcade-Game-Board-Hard-Drive-Marquee-/290867922934?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43b91447f6


btw, he said I could upgrade it 2013 specs by paying them $449 but they wouldn't sell me the actual guts, only the upgrade.

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1351
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 08:54:57 pm »
You cannot upgrade that board to 2013, whoever told you that is incorrect.  That type of board can be upgraded to Golden Tee Complete, which has all of the courses (+Extra courses) from all of the Golden Tee Fore! versions.

You will need that board and hard drive and a power supply as well (I believe for the Red board you can use a standard PC power supply, but I'm not 100% sure. You'll have to look itup)  You'll also need an audio preamp of some kind, or at the very least a line level converter for the audio.  You'll need a super jamma harness.  I'd suggest getting it from gatorcade.com. Their jamma cables are very well done, and have most if not all connectors already attached, including daisy-chained ground wires. ALl you need to do is slide them onto the buttons and you're good to go.

Also, if you are planning on using a TV and not a Medium Res or Standard Res arcade monitor, you'll need a video converter as well.  You can use AverMedia's AverKey 300 Pro to convert the video right out of the 3DFX card on the board to SVideo, or get JROK's RGB -> TV converter.  Depending on your TV, you may need a sync board as well.  You can get those directly from him or from gatorcade.com as well.

Good luck!

Huskerfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 05:51:13 pm »
Thanks for responding!  Since that post I've investigated more.  2006 is the year Golden Tee Live came out and any GTL can be upgraded to current standards.  So with that said I think this motherboard should do the trick, right?  http://www.ebay.com/itm/GOLDEN-TEE-LIVE-REPLACEMENT-MOTHER-BOARD-COMPLETE-NEW-/300876197762?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item460d9e6f82

I can get a hard drive for it right here:  http://www.ebay.com/itm/GOLDEN-TEE-GOLF-LIVE-2012-REPLACEMENT-HARD-DRIVE-INCREDIBLE-TECHNOLOGIES-I-T-/300868531809?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item460d297661

A power supply right here:  http://www.ebay.com/itm/GOLDEN-TEE-LIVE-POWER-PUTT-TARGET-TOSS-POWER-SUPPLY-/380257035707?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item588915e5bb

Guess I'd need a video card and of course I'd build the cabinet and control panel but I've done that before.

What do you think?


nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1351
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 12:15:02 pm »
I have NO IDEA when it comes to Golden Tee Live what you need.  I really only know Golden Tee Fore! boards.

You'll have to ask someone more familiar with those boards.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2013, 12:24:13 pm »
if u are going to build a golden tee live built by it's-gamming
u will need the >pid< board
this carry's the uniquie id of the game
also they use what is called a black hawk micro system now
plus to boot u will need to setup an account with it's-gamming
to get the current course's :ie: 2013
as the course's are virtuial..there never kept in the on-board system

now if it is a hack,then not all of the above apply's

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2035
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2013, 04:37:31 pm »
@ed12 If it's not against this forums rules, could you explain how one goes about doing the "hack" for this?
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Huskerfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 02:38:32 pm »
if u are going to build a golden tee live built by it's-gamming
u will need the >pid< board
this carry's the uniquie id of the game
also they use what is called a black hawk micro system now
plus to boot u will need to setup an account with it's-gamming
to get the current course's :ie: 2013
as the course's are virtuial..there never kept in the on-board system

now if it is a hack,then not all of the above apply's

ed

I thought there was a free standing unit that didn't hook up to Golden Tee.  I think it's the home use one.  And I think instead of the pid you're talking about the cid?
I was just wondering if I could pick up one of those motherboards and I'd be on my way.

Has anyone built one of these from scratch?

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1326
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2013, 09:08:59 am »
I thought there was a free standing unit that didn't hook up to Golden Tee.  I think it's the home use one.  And I think instead of the pid you're talking about the cid?
I was just wondering if I could pick up one of those motherboards and I'd be on my way.
Has anyone built one of these from scratch?
Yep there is even a thread about it on here somewhere.  Unfortunately in another thread recently someone pointed out that IT no longer sell the stand alone product  :banghead:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,104064.0.html

Huskerfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2013, 02:30:58 pm »
I thought there was a free standing unit that didn't hook up to Golden Tee.  I think it's the home use one.  And I think instead of the pid you're talking about the cid?
I was just wondering if I could pick up one of those motherboards and I'd be on my way.
Has anyone built one of these from scratch?
Yep there is even a thread about it on here somewhere.  Unfortunately in another thread recently someone pointed out that IT no longer sell the stand alone product  :banghead:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,104064.0.html
Ya, I was the one that posted to that thread.  :)  Since then I found someone to sell the kit for $2700 but that's still more than I want to spend.  I think it can be done for less than $1000 but I don't know all the parts involved for sure.

Steve Dallas

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2013, 08:45:50 am »
Any luck getting started, Husker?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2013, 01:02:01 pm »
a golden t golf game,
can be bought complete for $1200.00 canadian
complete and running
most were dynamo cab's
about $250.00
26" wg monitior
its-gamming green mother-board
power-supply
hard-drive.
now golden t live is a totaly dif critter
for that 1 u need the black-hawk box,and cid/pid board
but for the older unit's,lord every game dealer would or should have atleast 4
that they would let go of
just rem.the monitor will be dated,as will the hard-drive
so renew the monitor >cap-kit/etc<
and copy the hard-drive for back-up reason's
snag a roller ball re-build kit..happ control's >about $40.00<
and away u go
they are heavy,so u will need a few big buddie's or a cart with another bud

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

blezzda40z

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2013, 09:17:16 pm »
I have found a golden tee live mother board and a cheap I/O board plus gt live 2012 hard drive and graphics card all for a total under 700$ all from differnt sellers.  Will these work together or am i missing something?
i would like to find out before buying and wasting money

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2052
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 09:34:58 pm »
Why not just grab a few buttons, an old pc, and a trackball and build a cabinet for it? You could be good to go for $300

chopperthedog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 982
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2013, 08:47:59 pm »
a golden t golf game,
can be bought complete for $1200.00 canadian
complete and running
most were dynamo cab's
about $250.00
26" wg monitior
its-gamming green mother-board
power-supply
hard-drive.
now golden t live is a totaly dif critter
for that 1 u need the black-hawk box,and cid/pid board
but for the older unit's,lord every game dealer would or should have atleast 4
that they would let go of
just rem.the monitor will be dated,as will the hard-drive
so renew the monitor >cap-kit/etc<
and copy the hard-drive for back-up reason's
snag a roller ball re-build kit..happ control's >about $40.00<
and away u go
they are heavy,so u will need a few big buddie's or a cart with another bud

ed
That's nighthawk box. I absolutely love your insightful cryptic posts, seriously. #nohomo :applaud:


good day.

Ond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1606
  • build something
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2013, 09:16:22 pm »
Hey look what I found, I drew this up for someone eons ago,  it can be provided without the grass background of course in high resolution.



Useful?
You might think that you're scared, but you're not.  That isn't fear.  That's your sharpness.  That's your power.

macattack

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Cabinet builder to the stars!
Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2013, 09:41:23 pm »
If you need a cnc flat pack pedestal, I have them now. Will post some pics next week in a new thread.
Pm me for custom cnc needs...

smalltownguy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 917
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2018, 03:17:46 pm »
If you need a cnc flat pack pedestal, I have them now. Will post some pics next week in a new thread.

Interested! PM Sent.
Man, will my cab EVER be finished?

gumby510

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
  • SR-20 NX 2000
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2018, 01:11:34 am »
If you need a cnc flat pack pedestal, I have them now. Will post some pics next week in a new thread.

Interested! PM Sent.

Dam necro bump. Id like to find one to as I have an extra 2018 kit I want to get rid of. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

niemeyerw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
  • It is what it is.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,157234.0.html
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2018, 08:49:29 am »
I have a friend that might be interested in the kit you have.  Is it a live kit, and how much are you looking to get for it?

gumby510

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
  • SR-20 NX 2000
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2018, 11:35:15 am »
I have a friend that might be interested in the kit you have.  Is it a live kit, and how much are you looking to get for it?
Offline kit I was using in my other cab. Live cids are hard to come by and cost as much as what I want for this one. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

smalltownguy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 917
Re: Want to build Golden Tee cabinet, need advice
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2018, 12:46:18 pm »
I have a friend that might be interested in the kit you have.  Is it a live kit, and how much are you looking to get for it?

PM Sent
Man, will my cab EVER be finished?

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31