Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Hacking Outrun 2006  (Read 170287 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

FaithLes2425

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Last login:June 23, 2019, 05:07:12 pm
  • Bingo!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #840 on: September 11, 2015, 10:53:04 am »
Curved ultrawide G-sync displays will certainly be nice for racing games IMO.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #841 on: September 12, 2015, 01:47:34 am »
I added the mph and km/h symbols..... I think I made them a little small, but I can scale them up later.  I also added the option to display speed in km/h, which I'm sure our European friends will appreciate.  Right now it's forced via an option, but eventually I'll read the save file to determine which one to use. 

I'll go ahead and do the time left and time elapsed numbers next and then I think that's enough to start removing the hud. 

FaithLes2425

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Last login:June 23, 2019, 05:07:12 pm
  • Bingo!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #842 on: September 12, 2015, 12:56:54 pm »
KM/H will be appreciated ;-)
BTW I just tried out a LAN setup. It would be nice with some rumble or FFB on impact with each other.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #843 on: September 12, 2015, 04:50:48 pm »
I'm not sure if I can.  I've mentioned it several times before... since this is an arcade game, it doesn't have "physics" in the traditional sense.  A lot of things are forced or use canned animation.  I get the rather sketchy FF from hitting traffic via tapping into the spark generator, for example, as running into cars really doesn't have any impact on your car.  The Ferraris don't take damage, so I don't know how much I can do.  There has to be some sort of collision system, but I haven't found it yet. 

Anyway, I've added the time left numbers.  I'm not super satisfied with them visually and they need some work (for whatever reason they drop to 0 when the time is less than 10 seconds) but they are good enough as a place holder. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #844 on: September 12, 2015, 07:58:52 pm »
I fixed the time left display.  It was a stupid glitch on my part.  I think I'm done with the HUD for now as it's getting boring.  I've already released a version with working Force-Feedback so I'm guessing 99% of the people out there don't care much about any future features anyway. 

FaithLes2425

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Last login:June 23, 2019, 05:07:12 pm
  • Bingo!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #845 on: September 13, 2015, 02:04:33 am »
I care a great deal about an arcade LAN mode. A master/Slave setup if possible.

Giddygoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
  • Last login:September 14, 2017, 03:38:16 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #846 on: September 13, 2015, 04:45:37 am »
 I think you have done wonders Howard and I will always keep checking any more updates on this thread...

Things I'm still hoping for are the actual reproduction of the Outrun 2 SP menu screens, animated icons like the arcade version and maybe the sun bloom effects matched to the arcade...

But as it stands its already better than the arcade version and far more configurable

Thanks for all the hard work

Btw love the menu jump feature to arcade 2006 mode

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #847 on: September 13, 2015, 12:38:29 pm »
I have reproduced the arcade menus.  Turn on overlays.  Their animations were taken by looking at a 2SP machine running.  Obviously the automatic/standard menu isn't arcade perfect, but there isn't much I can do about that due to the fact that it operates differently. 

Giddygoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
  • Last login:September 14, 2017, 03:38:16 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #848 on: September 14, 2015, 03:42:59 am »
Oops, missed that!

Kool, I'll switch em tomorrow when I can get to the cab

Again amazing work....

I might get a video up on YouTube too of a before and after

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 734
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 08:15:00 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #849 on: October 29, 2015, 11:30:59 am »
Put some videos up asap!

Would love to mate, but unfortunately I can only do video capture from an external source (like a console) in SD, so you wouldn't be able to see the benefit (and in fact I only have an HDMI cable for the 360, so I wouldn't be able to obtain any SD video capture anyway).

You'll just have to take my word for how good it looks ;)

Ok, so it's only taken me about 7 months but I now finally have the ability to do HD video capture (and at 60 fps as well)! So in response to this request here earlier in the thread from SegaOutrun here's what the Scud Race and Daytona USA bonus stages from original Xbox Outrun 2 look like upscaled into HD when played on an Xbox 360.





And here's a playthrough on the regular arcade mode - it really does look awesome like this.


Nuexzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
  • Last login:February 17, 2020, 07:47:40 pm
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #850 on: October 29, 2015, 11:26:18 pm »
Please pass these videos to the children of the 90 arcade racer .that are lost

24Hz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:September 20, 2017, 08:00:01 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #851 on: December 05, 2015, 05:06:46 pm »
Hey Howard, in the newest version of FXT, controlling your car with an xinput analog stick doesn't appear to work.
I assume this is something to do with your work on wheel support - is this simply a necessary side effect?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #852 on: December 05, 2015, 10:29:57 pm »
No you just need to turn off the wheel override.  It isn't needed for a xinput gamepad.

deidos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:December 23, 2018, 02:05:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #853 on: December 08, 2015, 12:05:17 pm »
I need help.  Is there any way to make it work with coins?  Anybody?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #854 on: December 08, 2015, 02:16:14 pm »
You don't need help.  It doesn't work with coins because it's a pc game.

easgard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:April 05, 2018, 06:03:00 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #855 on: January 25, 2016, 10:59:10 am »
I've made this game coin operated. You can see it from the video below. This video is Turkish but you can understand process.
 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #856 on: January 25, 2016, 04:03:23 pm »
That's nice, but my decision to not make it coin operated was intentional.  I don't want to see this version showing up in an arcade, mostly because it's too unstable. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #857 on: February 16, 2016, 10:59:01 pm »
So I'm working on the code again to clean it up for yet another project. 

I took another look at pedals.  It still feels a little bit off to me, perhaps it just because raw data, which is different from what the game feeds it, is being sent directly to the gas/brake addresses, but I have managed to block the gas and brake and get them to work properly.  So when this next release is ready I'll add the option with a warning that the experience might not be 100% accurate. 

terminator2k2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
  • Last login:December 29, 2019, 05:49:18 pm
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #858 on: February 17, 2016, 06:24:43 am »
nice 1 , cant wait.... :cheers:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #859 on: February 17, 2016, 07:05:09 pm »
I can now confirm, unfortunately, that overriding the pedals causes the game to screw up the drifting mechanic.  Mind you it's still possible to drift, but the physics aren't the same.  I've probably missed a value somewhere so I'll look at it again after the next release. 

In the mean time there is something I could use some help on.  I need to know how the arcade version behaves in regards to lan play.  I just need some video of the game starting a lan match ect.....  I think I might be able to fake it somewhat.  If not I'll just allow you to launch fxt with a "-lan" flag that will take you straight to the lan menu. 

terminator2k2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
  • Last login:December 29, 2019, 05:49:18 pm
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #860 on: February 17, 2016, 07:16:07 pm »
just come across this one:



there may be better on youtube

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #861 on: February 17, 2016, 07:26:51 pm »
That's helpful thanks. 


Hmm... most of the arcade graphics are in the game even if they aren't used, but I don't recall running across those textures.  This game offers more options anyway. 

The only thing I can think of is maybe allowing the player to select their options in single player, block them from entering the game and then using those settings to launch the lan stuff.  I've got to think on this one a bit.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #862 on: February 17, 2016, 10:23:03 pm »
Less of a progress report and more of a comment.... 

I was playing fxt on my racing rig while I'm waiting for some files to transfer over.  This is the first time I've played it with everything (well mostly, I still haven't hooked up the VR buttons) in place.  Dang, I did a pretty good job on that.  ;)   

Seriously though guys I really appreciate how everyone has rallied around to help on this project.  The new, optional HUD is almost done, the FF is pretty good and I'll start on the LAN this spring.  I'm starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel guys.  We might be able to put a pin in this one by summer time. 

Also my experimental FE, Checked flag, needs some work in the analog controls dept.  I tested it on gamepads and now that I have the wheel hooked up.... well let's just say the Logitech profiler's method of handling all the virtual axis isn't the best.  It keeps un-used axis stuck at 0 or 10,000, which registers a press in most of my software.  I'm going to make or find a joystick test program, which should be useful for everyone, and go from there. 

Insayne

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:April 24, 2019, 05:31:30 am
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #863 on: March 11, 2016, 05:43:08 am »
First off, thank you very much for your work on this!

I was wondering if any progress had been made or information exists in including the Xbox Scud Race / Daytona USA 2 tracks in the PC version ?
Or if you have any information that would be helpful to do this?

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 734
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 08:15:00 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #864 on: March 11, 2016, 09:14:26 am »
just come across this one:



there may be better on youtube

Awesome.

avens

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:August 15, 2019, 04:23:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #865 on: April 06, 2016, 01:58:31 pm »
Is there any build available?
edit: ok found it. Very glad that there's a release, as I've reading this thread since the very beginning of it. Thank you!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2016, 02:06:34 pm by avens »

24Hz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:September 20, 2017, 08:00:01 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #866 on: May 22, 2016, 08:35:11 pm »
Howard, just logging in to say thanks, all your work is appreciated, it's been fun watching your progress, can't wait for a new release!

ralphup

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:July 27, 2016, 05:59:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #867 on: July 27, 2016, 10:48:30 am »
Hi Howard. I was sooooo dissapointed when I finally got the PC version of 2006 with the lack of force feedback etc. then I found your patch!

Wow this is great, fixes all the major issues that I can see with the original, one thing I have notices is I get an image of the Stereo (minus the Graphic Equaliser) on some screens, this appears on certain screens like Unavailable Cars. is there any fix for this as it doesnt happen when running standard version.

Silly me just set the MENUS to 4:3 mode and all is good! wrong again, seems I need to UNTICK "force overlays" is this the only way to fix this issue Howard?

Thanks Again!
« Last Edit: July 27, 2016, 05:56:32 pm by ralphup »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #868 on: September 23, 2016, 07:55:11 pm »
Ok update time.  In the next phase of the project I want to work on a couple of things that I'll need help with.  Re-implementing the online mode in some way and squashing bugs and issues with the force-feedback.  I'll also modify the script to add some turn force by popular demand. 

I have a few projects in the pipe that I need to finish first and I have to heal up from my impending eye surgery, but when I get back to working on this I may need some volunteers on a couple of pre-determined weekends to test for me.  First we will try some tunneling software to see if that works reliably enough and if not I'll whip out a packet sniffer and try to determine wtf the game is sending and expects to get back.  I'm fairly confident we can do it via tunneling.  Then on a separate evening I want to write something to make connecting to a specified cabinet easy without the use of a keyboard.  I've had trouble locating the menu values for the online mode, so I'm not sure how successful I will be at that.

Anyway, I'm just letting you guys know.  We should be well into fall before I'm ready and maybe we can do this over a holiday or something. 

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 708
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 11:37:04 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #869 on: September 24, 2016, 04:09:24 am »
OK sounds good Howard!

In fact, I was just messing around with FXT earlier today. I've been able to determine the culprit of the problem causing the troubleshooter program to hang while having force feedback enabled......it's having multiple devices plugged in. Even if only TWO devices are plugged in my machine and I set the device ID# to anything other than "None", that will trigger the issue and it will hang. I unplugged everything else and left only the Bodnar plugged in, and it finally worked. So it's definitely a bug related to that area of things.

Furthermore, the force feedback from the "OR2Wheel.ffe" Fedit file makes my wheel oscillate and go crazy non-stop. Any way to resolve this?

Anyhow, I'll be glad to help out with beta testing later this fall Howard, just let me know when you're ready man.  :cheers:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #870 on: September 24, 2016, 03:59:29 pm »
Ugh.... stupid directX.  I'm sure it's something dumb in regards to the protocols. 

Without fxt manipulating it, it's supposed to oscillate back and forth non stop.  If it's doing that in-game then it's still hanging, it's just hanging when the effect is called most likely.  Either that or your wheel doesn't support on-the-fly manipulation of effects.  If that's the case then even with a different file you aren't going to get the full experience.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #871 on: October 07, 2016, 08:00:25 pm »
Well the doc says I can read again (I realize how stupid that sounds) so I decided to muck around in the code.  I started implementing preliminary code for an auto LAN start.  It works just like the "Arcade" mode I added earlier, so that wasn't too hard.  I need to find all the LAN game setting values so I can have the game automatically start a match from pre-defined settings.  Then I need to find a good network sniffer and see if I can figure out what online mode is wanting.  My guess (and this is just a guess) is that the lan and online data transmissions are pretty similar, and just some sort of handshake is needed, which I might be able to fake.  If it's a centralized server then we may be screwed unless I create a pseudo-online mode via tunneling. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #872 on: October 08, 2016, 12:20:43 am »
I found all the LAN setting values pretty easily.  In order to test that they are working correctly I'll have to setup a LAN game so that will have to wait until tomorrow.  I still need to catalog what setting corresponds to what value (color 2 = yellow, ect).  I'm still wondering the best way to make the interface.  Due to the long loading times, doing it like the arcade machines probably wouldn't be best.  Maybe a "LAN" button?

Giddygoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
  • Last login:September 14, 2017, 03:38:16 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #873 on: October 08, 2016, 03:01:54 am »
Hi Howard,

Just wanted to thank you for hard work on FXT, it really is just amazing how much closer to the arcade version it is

Seeing as you fine tuning and adding new features to FXT

I was wondering it would be possible to hide of cover up some of the windows that pop up briefly when launching FXT and also selecting a game... It seems to bring you out of experience just a little but it is very minor.

Also was wondering if there is the OutrunSP arcade movie attract in English available too

But as it stands it almost perfect so if these things don't happen no probs

But Thx again, so much better than Outrun Coast to coast 2006


MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 734
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 08:15:00 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #874 on: October 08, 2016, 07:47:32 am »
Maybe a "LAN" button?

Sounds good Howard!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #875 on: October 08, 2016, 03:18:48 pm »
Well I'm having issues with the LAN mode.  It isn't setting the settings for the race... that is easy... it's automatically getting to the lan menu.  I can't do it in assembly code like with arcade mode, so I'm simulating keypresses, which we all know isn't stable at all. 

Also, my extra pcs are acting up, so it's a tad bit hard to work on multi-player. 

I guess I'm done for today. 

Pedro Pablo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:April 05, 2017, 10:52:33 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #876 on: October 08, 2016, 08:45:32 pm »
Hey Howard

Let me congrat you about the great work of FXT. I was using it very happy in my DFGT, until i've got a problem sometime ago. I dont want to post it again, so here´s the post. I hope that you can help me :)

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147131.msg1588659.html#msg1588659
« Last Edit: October 16, 2016, 11:59:49 pm by Pedro Pablo »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #877 on: October 08, 2016, 11:05:35 pm »
Hey Hoard

Let me congrat you about the great work of FXT. I was using it very happy in my DFGT, until i've got a problem sometime ago. I dont want to post it again, so here´s the post. I hope that you can help me :)

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,147131.msg1588659.html#msg1588659

Most likely windows has stupidly re-ordered your wheel.  Try changing the joystick id in the settings for the wheel override. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #878 on: October 09, 2016, 12:15:06 pm »
So I'm still hitting a wall in regards to getting the whole LAN process fully automated, but I've discovered some interesting extra stuff. 

In multiplayer, setting the values for the course greater than the normal bounds allows access to some courses/course patterns not normally accessible in that mode.  Mind you they aren't particularly useful, as they typically crash at the end, but it's just more stuff to play with.  No, there aren't any new courses, but stuff like the sunset/night courses are playable.

Similarly, altering the sound number beyond the normal limits allows you to use background tracks not normally available.  The end song, the menu song, even "seeeega" looping over and over are all options. 

I need to see if there are corresponding values for the other game modes.  If so this might be the key to properly adding new songs and new courses. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #879 on: October 09, 2016, 12:46:05 pm »
Hah!  I knew this game had more to hack.  It turns out the "lan" values I found are, in fact, the raw variables that the various game modes feed to the engine prior to loading. 

What does this mean? 

Well, in short, this will allow me to add in support for all the 2k6 cars and songs in 2sp mode!  It also opens the possibility of adding in new songs, perhaps racing as some of the npcs, and other things. 

Because I now know the general area where global variables are stored, it potentially means I can hack the engine a bit to our liking.