Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Hacking Outrun 2006  (Read 170279 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

lolomc2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:February 14, 2016, 08:42:17 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #800 on: August 23, 2015, 04:39:50 pm »
 :notworthy:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #801 on: August 24, 2015, 01:42:46 am »
Ok so I hacked it in and no more deadzone!  I'll make it user-configurable before I release everything.  A really tiny deadzone of about 10 (out of 10,000) worked for me.

It should be noted though that the menus aren't yet hacked, so if you navigate with the wheel it isn't going to work unless you also setup the wheel in the game.  I'll eventually get around to fixing this.   

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #802 on: August 24, 2015, 02:22:11 am »
I added it to the config app as well.  Everything seems to be working smoothly. 

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 850
  • Last login:Today at 05:39:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #803 on: August 24, 2015, 03:48:16 am »

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 708
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 11:37:04 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #804 on: August 24, 2015, 04:51:19 am »
One more addition.  I thought about it and you guys are right... the deadzone on the wheel is a problem.  I'm going to fix it tonight.... I've already added the code to monitor another joystick.  (To avoid the problems that this game has with multiple controls, the wheel the vr buttons the gear shift and when I add them the pedals all get separate joysticks)  I'll just have to add the wheel NO OP (already found it ages ago) and some configuration options.

That is absolutely wonderful Howard. You are too awesome my friend! :cheers:
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 04:52:50 am by isamu »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #805 on: August 24, 2015, 02:09:46 pm »
So I guess I might as well go ahead and do the pedals huh?  That's the project for tonight.  I'll save the hacks required to control the menus for a future release though (haven't found the values yet)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #806 on: August 24, 2015, 06:00:50 pm »
So that off-centered wheel problem I was having?  Turns out it was a bug in the code.  I've since fixed it, but I need to add code to reacquire the wheel if the window loses focus.  Man I bet mamehooker has the exact same bug, which explains a lot. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #807 on: August 25, 2015, 03:57:17 am »
Ok so I got all of that sorted.  Man it was a mess.  Here's a tip for all of your amateur directx programmers out there.  Apparently you can't overwrite force-feedback effects..... the easiest way to fix it is to un-acquire the device and re-acquire it.   Using my mamehooker code for this game, I always load a generic effect first, just to test the wheel before loading the real effect.  Well the old effect was still there mucking things up.  So yeah a new mamehooker is eminent as well. 

I tested the force-feedback again and now it is, for lack of a better description, much more crisp.  Mind you I'm still loading canned effects and manipulating those, but hopefully someone can help me with advanced, physics-based effects later on. 

So maybe this morning or tonight I can get the pedals done, which is what I set out to do.   

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #808 on: August 25, 2015, 08:07:45 am »
So I woke up waaay too early this morning as you can see, and I took the opportunity to go ahead and rough in the gas/brake override.  I'm giving the options to set the deadzone, set the axis for each pedal, and set what type of axis it is (full or half axis, and if half, which half).  Is there anything else that's needed?

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 734
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 08:15:00 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #809 on: August 25, 2015, 11:39:17 am »
Sounds like you've covered everything to me.

kingpinzero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:September 20, 2015, 04:57:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #810 on: August 25, 2015, 05:16:58 pm »
So I woke up waaay too early this morning as you can see, and I took the opportunity to go ahead and rough in the gas/brake override.  I'm giving the options to set the deadzone, set the axis for each pedal, and set what type of axis it is (full or half axis, and if half, which half).  Is there anything else that's needed?

Howard probably you missed my previous post. Is there anything we can do to re enable the missing graphics effects?
You mentioned radeonpro, may I have a few screenshots to try to adapt it for nvidia cards?
Or you can do something to make em working with your launcher?
At this point that's the only thing missing.
Thank you for your work.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #811 on: August 26, 2015, 01:31:29 am »
No I saw it.  There are a lot of settings, it'd take quite a while to post them all, but like I said before, basically you force over-ride and max out everything beyond the original limits of the game.  It isn't dramatically better btw, it just seems to be a bit more accurate.  Once this release is over with I'll post my personal settings. 

kingpinzero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:September 20, 2015, 04:57:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #812 on: August 26, 2015, 01:48:12 am »
No I saw it.  There are a lot of settings, it'd take quite a while to post them all, but like I said before, basically you force over-ride and max out everything beyond the original limits of the game.  It isn't dramatically better btw, it just seems to be a bit more accurate.  Once this release is over with I'll post my personal settings.

Thank you, ive tried to force all the settings but i'm not getting anywhere.
So probably i'm forcing things that i'm not supposed to, or not correctly.
At least its vital to know in which Tab of Radeonpro i should force them.
Thank you again, looking forward to it.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #813 on: August 26, 2015, 03:28:33 am »
Hmm....  I'm having issues with the pedal overrides.  The pedals work just fine, but now drift isn't working?  I'm not sure what is going on there, but pedal override might have to wait until next time.

FaithLes2425

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Last login:June 23, 2019, 05:07:12 pm
  • Bingo!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #814 on: August 26, 2015, 10:47:01 am »
I know this isn't nativ to the game but, would a handbrake input fix this issue prehaps?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #815 on: August 26, 2015, 12:33:40 pm »
No, not really. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #816 on: August 26, 2015, 03:00:09 pm »
So I tried binding the gas/brake in the game AND blocking the inputs and sending my own data and drift now works.  That probably means that in addition to the memory addresses I'm setting, there are additional memory locations that need set.  I believe the brake values only show up in six places in memory, so it shouldn't be too hard to test. 

Connorsdad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 268
  • Last login:December 22, 2018, 05:56:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #817 on: August 26, 2015, 03:22:09 pm »
I'm sitting on the sidelines quietly watching your progress, feeling greatful. So, thank you Howard for doing something that the rest of us mere mortals have no idea of where to even start. I'm sure I speak for many silent individuals when I say your work is very much appreciated, thank you for being so determined.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

    

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
  • Last login:February 26, 2020, 07:17:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #818 on: August 26, 2015, 10:55:49 pm »
I'm sure I speak for many silent individuals when I say your work is very much appreciated, thank you for being so determined.

+1 from me as well.

Since this thread has become the go-to resource for OR on this forum I figure I may ask here. Does anyone else have a problem where outrun keeps resetting your controller? I have 2 wired 360 controllers, a Fanatec GT2, and 2 Aimtraks (enumerated in that order) plugged in. Every time I load OR it defaults to a 360 controller and I have to manually go and configure it to the wheel. Very annoying since I need a keyboard for that. And since I have too many controllers...my license loves to get corrupted. Any thoughts? I couldn't care as much about the license..I just would like to be able to navigate the game with my wheel from the get-go!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #819 on: August 27, 2015, 01:18:00 am »
The game has issues with multiple controllers... it's why I'm doing the over-rides. 

I've almost figured out the game save files, so I might eventually be able to read and write to them from my end. 

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
  • Last login:February 26, 2020, 07:17:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #820 on: August 27, 2015, 01:51:52 am »
Yeah no kidding. Sumo does a great job with making great games but their controller support is awful (ever try sonic all stars transformed's config tool?). That said, thanks for all of your hard work!  :cheers:

kbuzz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:October 11, 2018, 10:07:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #821 on: August 28, 2015, 01:57:58 am »
Nice work here. Bookmarked!
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 02:07:25 am by kbuzz »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #822 on: August 28, 2015, 04:10:31 am »
So I'm working on it.  There are multiple areas where the gas value is manipulated as well as the brake.  I think I'll have to no op and manually set all of these values. 

While I was in there I found the menu code for the wheel, so I can now control the horizontal.....  stay tuned for when I control the vertical and we can go to the outer limits.  ;)

I think gas/brake override needs to wait until next release though.... this could take a while. 

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 708
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 11:37:04 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #823 on: August 28, 2015, 10:07:11 am »
You're not human. :dizzy: :notworthy:

Hunk_4TH

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Last login:December 16, 2019, 04:04:04 pm
  • I DON'T ALLOW VANDALISM IN MY STOOOOOOOOOOORE!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #824 on: August 28, 2015, 08:04:22 pm »
Is it possible to somehow bring back the multiplayer function? Thankfully it has lan support but still.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 850
  • Last login:Today at 05:39:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #825 on: August 28, 2015, 08:25:28 pm »
If someone had a program like Tunngle then online would be back, obviously a custom menu would be awesome

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #826 on: August 29, 2015, 01:13:51 am »
Yeah it should also be possible via a VPN.  First we fix the game, then I look into lan. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #827 on: August 29, 2015, 04:54:10 pm »
So I've been busier than I thought I would be this month, but I'm going to try and package everything up either tonight or tomorrow.  Expect a glitch or two upon the release because I haven't had time to properly test the new additions. 

turncoat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:July 21, 2016, 10:25:18 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #828 on: August 31, 2015, 12:56:48 pm »
Just read through this thread and some of the app's and fixes on your site Howard.
Excellent stuff!
:)

Loafmeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 483
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 12:49:34 am
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #829 on: September 01, 2015, 01:26:05 pm »
Great progress!  The end is near :)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #830 on: September 01, 2015, 01:47:28 pm »
Oh we are there in terms of a release.  I just threw my back out like an idiot and I can only sit at the computer for a few minutes at a time.  Getting old sucks.  :(

Anyway I'm packaging up as we speak, but it's time to take a break. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #831 on: September 01, 2015, 04:16:15 pm »
Almost there guys.... I'll get it done tonight.  Man, this thing is pretty huge.  The texture packs bring the total up to 8 megs, and that's just the English ones!  I better put these on mediafire or something so it doesn't kill Saint's bw.  I'll split the music and foreign language into separate downloads as well. 

lolomc2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:February 14, 2016, 08:42:17 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #832 on: September 01, 2015, 04:25:31 pm »
Howard, why not creating a torrent ? I'll sure let this torrent for share on my Synology with no limit.


BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8619
  • Last login:Today at 06:03:56 am
  • ...
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #833 on: September 01, 2015, 06:23:40 pm »
I have a google account set up for BYOAC stuff.
Not sure what the limit is, but I doubt we're anywhere near it.

I could create a folder and give you access to put stuff in it.

EDIT: only using 2GB out of 15GB available.  I went ahead and created the folder.  Howard, if you PM me a google address, I'll add permissions to edit.
If you don't want to go that route, no big deal.  I'll download it and upload it to there anyway just for the sake of safekeeping.  ;D
« Last Edit: September 01, 2015, 06:30:13 pm by BadMouth »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 850
  • Last login:Today at 05:39:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #834 on: September 01, 2015, 11:49:50 pm »
yeah please don't do torrent

I hate torrents. Pretty excited this release is happening!!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #835 on: September 02, 2015, 01:16:39 am »
I'm not fond of torrents because my upload speed is crap so I can't host them. 

Anyway, let's move the actual downloads onto another thread....  it's getting a bit cluttered here.  I'll post mediafire links and we can add mirrors or whatever as we go.  There are several parts to cover....  replacement vids, bonus songs, textures and the wrapper itself so I think I need to just start a thread where all of that is listed on the first post. 

So I'll see you all over there. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #836 on: September 02, 2015, 01:52:20 am »
Ok guys I've started releasing things over in the exe thread which is HERE

Not everything is posted but let's discuss the release and any issues over there for a while.  The threads can always be merged or whatever later.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #837 on: September 10, 2015, 01:32:08 am »
Ok the release went well... still one or two bugs to squash, but I think I can start working on new features again, thus more wip. 

I'm looking at the textures I'll have to blank out for the eventual HUD replacement.  I did a test and all the tachometer packages are identical, save for the textures themselves, so I can do a single blank tachometer package and just copy-paste to all the others.  All the general HUD textures appear to be within spr_SPRANI_ETC_CVT_Xxst.  That's simultaneously good, because I don't have to look all over for them, and bad, because that's one of the textures I already re-worked for the arcade buttons and I'll have to do every language version of it. 

The plan is to do hd versions of the tachometer, the shift array, the speed, the time remaining and the time elapsed.  The other textures in the hud are all animated, so I'm uncertain if they can be replaced using the overlay method. 
« Last Edit: September 10, 2015, 11:53:20 am by Howard_Casto »

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 708
  • Last login:March 27, 2020, 11:37:04 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #838 on: September 10, 2015, 07:24:41 am »
Good to see you're back in WIP mode  :afro:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18173
  • Last login:Today at 01:41:31 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Hacking Outrun 2006
« Reply #839 on: September 10, 2015, 10:18:17 pm »
Eh I think the MK guys need me for a while, but I still have some wip left in me for this week.  ;)

Ok so I made the blue speed letters and added the code to change the letters blue when drafting.  Maybe it's an animation thing, but my letters seem to turn blue one or two frames after the game.  Considering it's a visual effect non-essential to gameplay, I dub it "close enough". 

So I need to make all the tachometers for all the cars, which seems mind-numbingly boring, and now that I have code to detect the car, use the proper tacho for each.  Then aside from some random rendering issues, the instrument cluster of the hud is complete. 

As I mentioned in the last post, removing the original textures should be pretty straight forward, but considering many won't want to do that, I'll have to re-write some of the config exe's code to allow for different mods.  Again the real reason I'm replacing as much of the hud as possible is the same reason I did the force 4:3 mode.... to make the game more cooperative on ultra wide screen monitors and multi monitor setups.  I have this feeling that ultra wide monitors are going to be the next "thing" and I don't want to have to do this again in a couple of years.