Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Vindic8r's MOTUMAME  (Read 11285 times)

vindic8r

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 10, 2024, 12:36:59 pm
    • MOTUMAME: A Masters of the Universe Arcade Cabinet
Vindic8r's MOTUMAME
« on: May 21, 2012, 11:18:29 am »
I've been working on this, my first cabinet, for a couple of months now. But due to the birth of my daughter, things have slowed/stalled a bit. Still, I'm proud of where this project is headed and am excited to share the progress made with y'all.

Specs
  • Donor cabinet: 1994 Williams Universal 40008 (same cabinet as MK I and Total Carnage)
  • Monitor: Wells-Gardner U2000 25"
  • PC: HP xw4300 Tower, Pentium D Single-Core, 2 GB RAM, Win XP, PCIe Arcade VGA
  • Controls: Quad player panel, 2 Ultrastik 360's, a Groovy TB-3" trackball, Turbotwist 2 spinner, 2 8-way sticks and 37 buttons (from twistedquarter). Each player will be themed to match a MOTU character (He-Man, Skeletor, Man-at-Arms, Evil-Lyn, probably)
  • Theme: Masters of the Universe
  • FE: Hyperspin

Imagine if you will, that the Masters of the Universe franchise had its own arcade game, circa 1983. It's really amazing that it didn't actually, when you think about it. There were games made for the Atari 2600, Intellivision, Commodore 64, Amstrad and a bunch of other home computers of the era, but nothing for the arcade. It's a shame.