Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Working with Plastics  (Read 52517 times)

selfie

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 20, 2014, 01:05:53 am
Working with Plastics
« on: March 28, 2012, 09:16:18 pm »
Hi All,

I've been reading the forum for a while but have yet to post. A  posted question has inspired me to share some knowledge on working with plastics.

I am a plastic fabricator by trade and I run a sign company. We do this sort of thing.

Once armed with some simple tricks and some dos and don'ts plastics are no harder to work with than timber.

I will add to this post as when I have time.

Some points will be obvious to some people.

Firstly acrylic and polycarbonate are the most relevant materials to cabinet construction so most of the info refers to these two types of plastics.

plexiglass is a trade name for a material called acrylic. Most sheet form acrylic is cast, this means the thickness is nominal and there is ALWAYS a fractional variation in thickness across the sheet. Acrylic is hard but brittle. It forms well with heat.