Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Help setting up X-Arcade trackball  (Read 7250 times)

mtballzack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
Help setting up X-Arcade trackball
« on: January 17, 2012, 04:25:48 pm »
Hi - I am definitely not a computer expert (I'm an accountant) but I managed to get the MAME emulator from mamedev.org (0.144) up and running along with the Hyperspin front-end. I bought the X-Arcade tankstick (the one with the trackball) but can't get the trackball to work in games. The trackball controls the mouse on my computer so I know that is working and it also works with the different wheels (menus) in Hyperspin, but I can't get it to work in the games (like Golden Tee). When I open a game, Golden Tee for example, and hit tab to go to change the controls for that game, it's like it doesn't even recognize the trackball. Can someone help me please? I think I may have to set the trackball as the primary mouse on the computer or something? Thanks for any help you can offer.

Grimoz

• Offline Offline
Re: Help setting up X-Arcade trackball
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2012, 06:00:42 pm »
I have found that you have to set trackball up outside of Hyperspin because it wont save the settings, so just run mame by itself and setup the trackball and hopefully it should work. If the version of mame you are running is the MAMEUI version then you have to go into the settings in the frontend and set it up from there under the controls tab.