Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Games with ISSUES: report here!  (Read 28570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #40 on: February 08, 2012, 06:50:33 pm »
Hi mazinger, try running it with -triplebuffer (to discard CPU power).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mazinger-z

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #41 on: February 09, 2012, 07:27:59 am »
With triplebuffer enabled, the game stutters much less (once in a while) and is playable. Speed is 97.20%.
With triplebuffer enabled and sound disabled, it works more or less the same (maybe a tad better). Speed: 99.10%.
With triplebuffer disabled and sound disabled, it stutters and slows down like before. Speed: 84.00%.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #42 on: February 09, 2012, 07:59:13 am »
The results with triplebuffer match the ones you're getting with official MAME, which means the issue is CPU related, I'm afraid. As a general rule, you shouldn't use syncrefresh for a game that can't reach a 100% speed when run without it (triplebuffer).

The fact that you're not getting a 100% speed with official MAME means that your CPU needs more than 1000/Vfreq ms (1000/54.81570 = 18.24 ms for mk2) in order to render some of the game's frames. In these circumstances, enabling syncrefresh will reduce performance dramatically, as much as 50% in some cases, because many of the vertical retraces will be missed and the CPU will need to wait for the next one.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

JoeB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 617
  • NES Fanatic
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #43 on: February 12, 2012, 12:56:08 am »
Anyone noticed how many times switchres is called in "diehard" ?  For the start it gets called >10 times!!  It makes my arcade monitor go nuts with flickers.

And in all cases, it switches to same resolution!  Is this a bug in Diehard?  Tried in 0.145 ..

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #44 on: February 12, 2012, 01:43:11 pm »
Anyone noticed how many times switchres is called in "diehard" ?  For the start it gets called >10 times!!  It makes my arcade monitor go nuts with flickers.

And in all cases, it switches to same resolution!  Is this a bug in Diehard?  Tried in 0.145 ..

I've tried diehard and it switches resolutions a lot indeed, I'm not sure if the original game behaved like that or it's some kind of error in the routine which detects resolution switching. Actually the change is nearly not perceptible in my monitor but some other monitors shake a lot for mode switching so it can be nice to disable the -changeres option for that game.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #45 on: February 19, 2012, 03:26:23 pm »
gm .145 (on 31khz monitor)

Green Beret is picking a strange resolution for me:

960x448

screengrab from VNC, imagine this compressed to a 4:3 screen - It looks like a vertical game



I work around this by picking a more appropriate res in gberet.ini

Is GM picking a wrong resolution or is GM not scaling the image correctly?

Thanks

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #46 on: February 19, 2012, 03:43:33 pm »
Is GM picking a wrong resolution or is GM not scaling the image correctly?

That's what the log will tell us :)
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #47 on: February 19, 2012, 03:48:39 pm »
Oops!

ROM: gberet
GM: .145 x64 build
OS: XP X64
VIDEO: PCIE 4890
DRIVERS: crt_emudriver_9.3_1.2a_x64_multisync.rar


« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 03:52:04 pm by jimmy2x2x »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #48 on: February 19, 2012, 04:10:30 pm »
Well, everything is right, it's MAME's fault  :D

GM is calculating the right 480x448 resolution, 240x224 scaled x 2. Unfortunately you don't have 480x448 available in your mode list, but instead you have 960x448 which happens to be an EXACT match: ( xres x 4, yres x 2 ). Most of the time MAME just does a great job autoscaling these things so the result is perfect, but in some special situations it can't resolve it for some reason and it does a partial scaling. I *think* it should be enough to enable -keepaspect for that particular game. If that doesn't help, I'd recommend you using magic resolutions, that would make sure GM always finds a perfect match (not just a perfect-after-scaling).


Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #49 on: February 19, 2012, 04:16:07 pm »
My gberet.ini file now contains this:

keepaspect 1
##resolution 512x448

no change.

.ini is beig processed as I can comment in the res and that takes effect.


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #50 on: February 19, 2012, 04:20:10 pm »
Try the -cleanstretch option too.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #51 on: February 19, 2012, 04:22:12 pm »
its already enabled, but I have added the line and still no change.

Thanks for helping again, btw  :cheers:

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #52 on: February 19, 2012, 05:16:23 pm »
You're right, GM is enabling -cleanstretch there, I think it's a bad thing but I'm afraid we can't do anything as GM will override our option. Try -ddraw instead, though it shouldn't be different. This will need to be fixed.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #53 on: February 20, 2012, 04:19:43 am »
ddraw does not change anything either

I will just keep my forced resolution in there, not a problem

Thanks for looking into it Calamity

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #54 on: February 22, 2012, 11:18:38 pm »
Just a little more information on this scaling issue.

It is affecting a lot more games than I initially thought:

Bank Panic is another horizontal game (like green beret above)

Dodonpachi, Battle Garegga etc.. in fact most vertical games (on a horizontal monitor)



jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #55 on: February 29, 2012, 10:47:02 am »
Zoo Keeper running too fast for me (about 126%)

Looks like GM is selecting 512x512 from the log?

its actually 512x480
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 10:48:56 am by jimmy2x2x »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #56 on: February 29, 2012, 03:09:34 pm »
The problem with zookeeper is that it reports 256x256@76, but after that it internally switches to 256x240@60. The -changeres feature detects the resolution change but *not* the refresh change, so it still tries to refresh the game at 76 Hz, causing the wrong speed issue. This will need to be fixed, checking for refresh changes too.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #57 on: February 29, 2012, 03:16:50 pm »
Thanks!

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #58 on: April 06, 2012, 04:04:34 pm »
Calamity,

I think that it might be useful if you created a companion sticky thread where the first post lists specific games in MAME that are useful for testing your setup and regression testing new GroovyMAME builds.

For example, you could list specific games that do weird stuff like resolution switches, or have odd resolutions, sizes, and/or refresh rates.  I would list games that are good for testing specific common situations like "low-res vertical game on a horizontal monitor", or "too-tall vertical game on horizontal monitor that requires an interlaced resolution".  I would also list problem games that are edge-cases that may require monitor or video mode tweaking, or special INI files.

If a game is known to work in certain GroovyMAME builds, and not others, that could be listed too, if known.

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #59 on: May 06, 2012, 06:13:36 pm »
Shienryu is solid 100% for the most part but keeps jumping to 103% now and then, this causes the sound to warp and wobble for a second or so

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #60 on: May 08, 2012, 12:50:59 am »
The problem with zookeeper is that it reports 256x256@76, but after that it internally switches to 256x240@60. The -changeres feature detects the resolution change but *not* the refresh change, so it still tries to refresh the game at 76 Hz, causing the wrong speed issue. This will need to be fixed, checking for refresh changes too.


Why in the world does the driver report the wrong resolution and refresh rate?  Is that the maximum the hardware is capable of or something?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #61 on: May 09, 2012, 05:12:20 pm »
Why in the world does the driver report the wrong resolution and refresh rate?  Is that the maximum the hardware is capable of or something?

Well I wouldn't go as far as to say it's a wrong refresh rate, MAME reports it probably because the real hardware actually uses that mode "on boot". At some point the hardware will switch to the normal working mode, and MAME internally reflects this too. The problem is that MAME XML only reports the first video mode used by a game, this is a limitation indeed. On the other hand, the -changeres patch captures resolution switching by filtering changes in the frame buffer size, but refresh changes are not reflected here :(
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #62 on: May 09, 2012, 11:39:05 pm »
So for problem games like this, is the best option to force it to the final resolution and refresh rate using a game-specific ini file?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #63 on: May 10, 2012, 12:53:13 pm »
So for problem games like this, is the best option to force it to the final resolution and refresh rate using a game-specific ini file?

Yes, I'm afraid. Games that change their refresh rate are very rare fortunately. Resolution changes are properly detected so they're not a problem.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jvlk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #64 on: July 06, 2012, 08:38:44 am »
Anyone noticed how many times switchres is called in "diehard" ?  For the start it gets called >10 times!!  It makes my arcade monitor go nuts with flickers.

And in all cases, it switches to same resolution!  Is this a bug in Diehard?  Tried in 0.145 ..

I've tried diehard and it switches resolutions a lot indeed, I'm not sure if the original game behaved like that or it's some kind of error in the routine which detects resolution switching. Actually the change is nearly not perceptible in my monitor but some other monitors shake a lot for mode switching so it can be nice to disable the -changeres option for that game.


Strider 2 also has this problem

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #65 on: July 09, 2012, 12:13:44 am »
I've been playing with GroovyMAME 146u2 and I've found a few things...

1) I'm don't think Zoo Keeper (zookeep) is running too fast.  After exiting the game, it says...
Average speed: 100.54% (173 seconds)

2) Space Fury (spacfury) is VERY difficult to get stable on my monitor.  I have to adjust one of the controls, I think it was vertical amplitude all the way as far as it will go to one end to get a good picture.  It's not rolling either, it's just... shaking.  If I adjust the control the other way, the image eventually turns into a double vision type thing where the text is repeated twice.  Additionally, it appears to be playing way fast...   Average speed: 123.90% (58 seconds)

3) Tempest (tempest) is cut off at the bottom of the screen.  I know this one's been mentioned before.  SwitchRes seems to think it's 640x480 horizontal for some reason instead of vertical.  Is this something that is goofy in MAME or is a SwitchRes bug?

Log files for all three games are attached.

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #66 on: July 25, 2012, 10:46:12 am »
Some issue with groovymame 0.146u3 and metal slug (mslug).
I repost my specs:
- slackware linux 64bit
- groovymame 0.146u3
- ATI hd5450 videocard
- pal tv as monitor (576x768)

In attach there is the log.
Earth could be the hell of another world

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #67 on: July 25, 2012, 01:33:23 pm »
Some issue with groovymame 0.146u3 and metal slug (mslug).

So what happens exactly with mslug? Bad video?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #68 on: July 25, 2012, 02:24:21 pm »
Black screen (for few seconds), then groovymame exit.
Earth could be the hell of another world

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #69 on: July 25, 2012, 03:53:04 pm »
It seems to crash right after loading the cheats, have you tried disabling them? Also try disabling -multisync a compare the logs.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #70 on: July 31, 2012, 02:19:45 am »
Disabling the cheat system fixed it.
Earth could be the hell of another world

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #71 on: October 22, 2012, 03:27:54 am »
A user of another forum can't get the "automatic resolution change" (the monitor stuck at 768x576 interlaced).
Technical info:
- romset: ssridersabd
- monitor: pal tv
- OS: windows xp sp3
- graphic card: ati radeon 9600
- crt-emudriver
- vga->scart cable
- groovymame-0.146u4 (32 bit)


The second log is what he get by adding "monitor_spec0 15625-15800,49.50-60.50,2.000,4.700,8.000,0.064,0.160,1.056,0,0,288,448" into "mame.ini".
Earth could be the hell of another world

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #72 on: October 22, 2012, 04:04:53 am »
Look at this:

Code: [Select]
DirectDraw: Warning - Device does not support hardware stretching
DirectDraw: Warning - Device may not perform well for DirectDraw rendering

He's got the ddraw's hardware acceleration disabled. If it can't get enabled from the dxdiag control panel then it's almost sure the drivers are not properly installed.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #73 on: October 22, 2012, 04:09:19 am »
Ok, I will point this to him.
Earth could be the hell of another world

Ansa89

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #74 on: October 22, 2012, 06:04:18 am »
He said that he can't enable the hardware acceleration from dxdiag.
Which is the correct way to install the video driver, in order to enable the hardware acceleration?

EDIT: he said the problem was realvnc, which creates a "virtual graphic card" that screw up everything. After removing realvnc and reinstalling the driver, all works as expected.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2012, 12:44:04 pm by Ansa89 »
Earth could be the hell of another world

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #75 on: October 23, 2012, 12:40:13 pm »
EDIT: he said the problem was realvnc, which creates a "virtual graphic card" that screw up everything. After removing realvnc and reinstalling the driver, all work as expected.

Thank you very much for reporting this Ansa89, really good information.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1783
  • Gotta have blue hair.
    • Tank + Paladin = Tankadin
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #76 on: October 23, 2012, 01:07:05 pm »
I had similar issues with my primary (not MAME) PC with a remote access product called LogMeIn that also installs a "mirror driver".

I ended up having to uninstall the mirror driver using some command-line mojo I found posted in the LogMeIn forums.

maxpontello

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #77 on: October 26, 2012, 08:14:39 am »
I've some problem with Pang. In the details the game starts with 640x480@60 instead of 384x240@57. It seems to me that the pang ini file is correct and that the modeline is present, but for some reason it uses a wrong resolution. I attach pang.txt log because is far too long.


Rom Name: Pang
Video Card: Ati Radeon 9250 Agp 128 Mb
Driver: Calamity Emu CRT 1.2
Monitor: Intervideo Dual Frequency
Os: Win Xp 32bit

Thanks for help :)


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5513
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #78 on: October 31, 2012, 04:49:32 am »
I've some problem with Pang. In the details the game starts with 640x480@60 instead of 384x240@57. It seems to me that the pang ini file is correct and that the modeline is present, but for some reason it uses a wrong resolution. I attach pang.txt log because is far too long.

Hi maxpontello,

There's something odd going on there, probably the driver is not properly installed. If you look at your log, most fo the custom resolutions are not actually available in the mode list (the second one), just 41 custom modes are found. If can't fix this by running vmmaker again, this probably means that the wrong version of ati2mtag.sys file is in use.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

maxpontello

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Games with ISSUES: report here!
« Reply #79 on: October 31, 2012, 05:44:35 am »
Hi maxpontello,

There's something odd going on there, probably the driver is not properly installed. If you look at your log, most fo the custom resolutions are not actually available in the mode list (the second one), just 41 custom modes are found. If can't fix this by running vmmaker again, this probably means that the wrong version of ati2mtag.sys file is in use.

Hi Calamity, and thanks for your answer. You are right. In the meantime i've reinstalled crt drivers and realized that i was not using the most updated Vmmaker release. I've updated all and now things seem to wirk well. I've only one other concern. I've used the option 2 in modeline generation (automatic when the game start). When Pang (or other games) starts it seems that it uses the correct resolution but refresh is slightly different from original 384x240@57.42. Still i can't notice problems during the game, like stutters or audio problems (perhaps the pitch is different)? I've not seen great differences using mame.ini different options (vsync, syncrefresh, triplebuffer, etc) only i have to set throttle to 1 to avoid to execute the game at tremendous speed. Any suggestion for best results in emulation fidelity?

Thanks, Max

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31