Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: RAM Controls  (Read 90965 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 379
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: RAM Controls
« Reply #240 on: May 19, 2017, 01:25:04 pm »
I had one of those yoke interfaces that I got for $75 from a KLOV member via PM years back.
Got a cab all set up with a real yoke....and MAME was a huge let down in how it played.  Really squirrely.
Sold it all on ebay.  which left me with the impression that Star Wars requires the real deal to be enjoyable.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38219
Re: RAM Controls
« Reply #241 on: May 25, 2017, 10:37:28 am »



All that said, I understand why people are still so tempted to fall for these scams.  I have quite a few of those parts and they are really, really good parts.  I don't buy for one minute that the guy actually manufactured them.  He had to have found a cache of NOS parts somewhere.  The Major Havoc roller, for instance, is awesome.  As long as people want those Atari vector era parts these scams are going to keep coming back.

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: RAM Controls
« Reply #242 on: June 04, 2017, 04:39:17 am »
I had one of those yoke interfaces that I got for $75 from a KLOV member via PM years back.
Got a cab all set up with a real yoke....and MAME was a huge let down in how it played.  Really squirrely.
Sold it all on ebay.  which left me with the impression that Star Wars requires the real deal to be enjoyable.

It requires calibrating. http://www.aaarpinball.com/ASW/ASW.htm Probably every game you use a yoke for needs it.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2017, 04:45:42 am by Mr. Peabody »

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 379
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: RAM Controls
« Reply #243 on: June 04, 2017, 09:33:51 am »
I had one of those yoke interfaces that I got for $75 from a KLOV member via PM years back.
Got a cab all set up with a real yoke....and MAME was a huge let down in how it played.  Really squirrely.
Sold it all on ebay.  which left me with the impression that Star Wars requires the real deal to be enjoyable.

It requires calibrating. http://www.aaarpinball.com/ASW/ASW.htm Probably every game you use a yoke for needs it.


Yah i went thru that from the manual when I refurbed the yoke and installed new pots and gears.

Doesn't fix the crappy gameplay emulation of MAME though.

UPDATE Oct-  The Ultimarc A-Pac will work as an alternative.  The Star Wars yoke pots are recognized by the A-Pac as the Joystick X and Y Axis.  You'll need to build a proper connector to plug n play with the yoke.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 01:55:06 pm by 1500points »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31