Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Control panel planning (2 u360s and buttons)  (Read 11667 times)

ragnar

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 16, 2022, 10:40:56 am
Control panel planning (2 u360s and buttons)
« on: August 12, 2010, 01:48:07 am »
I'm a newbie (that has read alot over the past year or two) and I'm currently planning my first CP.  But before I even entertain a sketch, I'd like to review what I think I need.

I am doing a 2 player cabinet with no trackball.

I am going with the u360s.  2 of them.  The reason being that I want Atari 5200 and N64 support.  So I want an analog solution.  Right now I am not planning for a restrictor plate.  In part because I am on a tight budget.  In bigger part because I don't think I need it.  Question: As for top/bottom mounting, do I have to order them for one mounting or is that something i can decide later?

I figure that I need 18 (or more) buttons.  Each player will get a U360 and 7 buttons.  I'm basically doing the Neo-Geo/Street Fighter type layout for buttons.  Each player also gets a coin button and a player start button.  So 9 buttons per player.  For a total of 18.  I am not doing any sort of pinball support.

Don't laugh but I am considering giving each player 9 buttons for N64 support.  I know .... it's a stupid idea but for an extra $8 (2 players times 2 extra buttons each) it isn't exactly a deal breaker.