Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Two Versions of Mame in Maximus Arcade  (Read 6140 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Necroticart

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 342
  • Last login:April 28, 2021, 12:17:12 am
  • Welcome to my nightmare
Two Versions of Mame in Maximus Arcade
« on: February 21, 2010, 09:43:44 pm »
Well I figured it out finally I've got both versions up and running the sad part is it's a pain but not too difficult. First have Maximus arcade make the list of games for the first version of Mame then make a copy the Mame.lst file. after that go to preferences folder and delete the original Mame.lst file now pick an unused emulator. I used Raine for example and point it to Mame instead. Also don't forget to add the command line %file -skip_gameinfo -nowindow now rename the copy Mame.lst file to Raine.lst now import it as the Raine list in maximus once that is all done maximus thinks it's running Raine and you have your second version of Mame working. if you have any questions please ask as i'm not the best at explaining stuff.

Kman-Sweden

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
  • Last login:October 23, 2015, 07:29:00 am
  • Up the Irons!
Re: Two Versions of Mame in Maximus Arcade
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 08:30:19 am »
So you kind of hijacked another emulators prefrences/setup page?
Pointed to another exe file and edited the commandline field to send commands that work with the other exe file?

I'd like to try this with Visual Pinball since some tables only run in version 8 and some in version 9.

Necroticart

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 342
  • Last login:April 28, 2021, 12:17:12 am
  • Welcome to my nightmare
Re: Two Versions of Mame in Maximus Arcade
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 03:29:09 pm »
Yep that about sums it up just make sure you make the lst file using Visual Pinball then make a copy of it and rename it to whatever emulator your hijacking.

Kman-Sweden

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
  • Last login:October 23, 2015, 07:29:00 am
  • Up the Irons!
Re: Two Versions of Mame in Maximus Arcade
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2010, 10:25:51 pm »
Cool. I'll try it out as soon as I have put my PC back in the cabbie.